chat loading...
Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library 101

Get to the know the library

Note about Library Access and Library Accounts

In general, you need to use your Canvas login credentials in order to login to get access to Library Resources - this includes all databases (when off-campus) even Ebook Central (off-campus and on-campus). See the Off-Campus? tab for more information. However, there are accounts that you will need to create yourself if you wish to use them as they are not tied to your Canvas login information.

JETfind account

This account allows you to save your JETfind searches, save individual items from your searches, place a Hold on a book, renew your books, and save items in your bookbag. It is not tied to your Canvas account and must be created. The login is linked below but it is also seen in the JETfind search box.

You must use your Molloy email address and create a username. 

account login link in the JETfind search box

Interlibrary Loan / ILLiad

Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) is used to borrow items from other libraries. When creating your ILLiad account, you will need to use your Molloy email address and select a username. For more information, see the Interlibrary Loan tab or click one of the links below.

Academic Writer

Academic Writer requires two logins, if you are off-campus. You must first login through the Login for Library Access screen - this tells Academic Writer that you part of Molloy College. Then you will need to create an account using your Molloy email address. Account creation steps are on the Academic Writer LibGuide.

If you wish to bookmark Academic Writer in your web browser, it must be the full proxied link (listed below) in order to function correctly.

Browzine

You do not need an account to browse journals through Browzine. You will need an account if you want to save any journals to your personal bookshelf and receive in-app notifications of new publications. 

Social Explorer

You do not need an account to browse Social Explorer. You will need to create an account if you wish to create your own maps and save your work. You will find the Create Account and Login options on the upper right side.

Swank

If you are off-campus, you will need to login for library access. You do not need an account in order to watch movies in Swank. The first time that you use the link from A-Z Databases you will see the screen below. 

Anyone can click Student in order to watch movies. If you click instructor, you will be asked to create an account and login. An instructor account is only required if you wish to request films directly through Swank. More information for instructors can be found on the Faculty Resources LibGuide.

Swank login screen

 

Zotero

Your Zotero account is not tied to any of your Molloy accounts. More information on creating this free account and initial setup steps can be found on the Zotero LibGuide.

Database accounts - Ebsco, ProQuest, etc.

Each database will give you the option to create an account. These are not necessary in order to search the database or get the full text of the article. These accounts are only necessary if you wish to save your searches in the database. Below are a few examples of where to go in order to create the accounts.

Note: these accounts are vendor specific and do not connect to each other. Ex. your Ebsco account will only work for all the Ebsco databases.

Ebsco - Sign In option is in the upper right corner. Creating an account will allow you to save items to your folder.


ProQuest - My Research options are in the upper right corner.


JSTOR - account creation in the upper right and will also give you access to several free articles per day that are outside of the JET Library's collections


Gale - Account options are in the upper right corner but are limited to Google & Microsoft logins


ScienceDirect / Elsevier - options are in the upper right corner

UA-42961638-1