chat loading...
Skip to main content

Library 101: Google Scholar

Configuring Google Scholar From Home - A one time set up to view Molloy's holdings!

On-Campus Users:

No configuration is necessary. When you conduct a search within Google Scholar, articles that can be linked to full text will have a "Full-text @ Molloy" hyperlink at the right of the results as illustrated below:


Off-Campus Users:

You can connect via the instructions in the GET IT FAST box  or use the GoogleScholar search box provided on this guide. You can also manually configure Google Scholar on your home computer or laptop in a few simple steps:

Once you are in Google Scholar, click on the three vertical lines in the far left, then the gear icon for Settings or just go here
  1. Click Library Links and enter Molloy then click the Search button.
  2. Put a check in all available resources as indicated below
  3. Click SAVE to apply your changes


In the Search Results settings, you can also select a bibliographic manager.

Setting Additional Preferences: While in the Scholar preferences, you may also want to take a moment to set the Search Language to English and if desired, 

Test your settings. Conduct a sample search. Links to Molloy should appear to the right, links to ProQuest and RefWorks appear below the citation as indicated in the first screenshot above. Didn't work? Use the methods indicated in the GET IT FAST box on the right.

Web of Science via Google Scholar

Web of Science has partnered with Google Scholar so that when one searches Google Scholar, a web of science link will appear under the result.

When you select an article from the results page in Google Scholar, you will be taken into Web of Science where it will show you what other articles have cited the one you choose, both indexed in Web of Science Core Collection and not.

NOTE: If you have the Kopernio web browser extension, you will see a PDF icon, like pictured below, and can skip the steps.


When you are taken into Web of Science, the process for obtaining Full Text has changed slightly. As many of you know, you cannot limit to full text in Web of Science. You can limit to Open Access on the left side panel but that will not include articles for which we have paid subscriptions.

There are 3 options:

  • "Get Access" will take you the library's holdings or Interlibrary Loan
  • "Free text from Publisher" will take you to the publisher's website, to the full-text
  • "View Abstract" will give you the abstract and, if the full-text if available from NCBI, there will be an icon for that at the abstract view

 

NCBI link will take you to a link resolver page (kind of like our Serial Solutions one) where you can Link Out to the full text.

NOTE: If you have the Kopernio web browser extension, you will see a PDF icon on the lower left side of the screen.

 

Search Google Scholar

If the articles in the results link to full text, you will see "Molloy Full Text" to the right of the result.

If you are searching from Off Campus, you will be asked to authenticate using your network or Canvas username and password in order to see results from Molloy.

You can also configure your home computer or laptop  for these settings in a few simple steps described here

Get it fast

Illustration of a lightning boltIf students and faculty access Google Scholar via our A-Z Database links, no configuration is required. Simply enter your network or Canvas username and password and you will be automatically linked to all of Molloy's full text databases.

Or, click on the link below.

Importing Citations from Google Scholar to a Citation Manager

For Zotero and Academic Writer:

Note:  To configure the export to Zotero or Academic Writer, you must configure Google Scholar by clicking on the Search Results and selecting RefMan as your default in the Bibliography Manager area.

  1. Conduct your search in Google Scholar. 

  2. Each record displayed will have an Import into RefMan link.  Clicking on the link will download the RIS file.

  3. Login to your Zotero or Academic Writer Account.

  4. Drag & drop, or import that RIS file into your Citation Manager.


Image of Got Refworks

For RefWorks:

Note:  To configure the direct export to RefWorks, you must configure Google Scholar by clicking on the Search Results and selecting RefWorks as your default in the Bibliography Manager area.

  1. Conduct your search in Google Scholar. If you have not authenticated, you must also login to RefWorks at this time.

  2. Each record displayed will have an Import into RefWorks link.  Clicking on the link will launch the RefWorks login page.

  3. Once you log in, you are brought automatically to the Edit view of the reference.  If you do not wish to edit the record, you can navigate to any other area of RefWorks.

  4. Your record is stored in your Last Imported Folder.  

UA-42961638-1