JET LibGuides logo

Skip to Main Content

Library 101

Get to the know the library

See the full LibGuide

There is now a designated LibGuide that contains more information than displayed on this page.

The Physical Space

The JET library is located on the 2nd floor of Kellenberg Hall on the Rockville Centre campus. Kellenberg Hall was built in the 1950s and was first occupied in 1958. There is a ramp entrance located on the south side of the building that leads into the Anselma Room. Additional entrances at the back of Kellenberg Hall will bring a patron into the basement level. There is one elevator in Kellenbeg Hall that can be used to get to the library's entrance on the second floor. There is one elevator in the Casey Centers that can be used to get to the 2nd floor and a bridge that connects Casey Center to Kellenberg Hall.

Inside the library, there are three levels. These three levels do not always match the floors of Kellenberg Hall. The library's main (first) level is on the second floor of Kellenberg Hall. The library's second level does not correlate with a floor of Kellenberg Hall. Parts of the library's third level are on the third floor of Kellenberg Hall and have emergency fire exits, no entrances.

Spaces on the Main / first level of the library include:

  • Main Reference Room
  • Educational Resource Center
  • Learning Commons
  • Library Instruction Room A
  • Group Study
  • Quiet Study
  • Librarian Offices

Spaces on the Mezzanine / second level of the library require the use of stairs and include:

  • Library Instruction Room B
  • Mezzanine with books from the circulating collection
  • Stairs up to Library Instruction Room C

Spaces on the third level of the library require the use of stairs and include:

  • Stack Room 1
  • Dominican Reading Room
  • Quiet Study
  • Library Instruction Room C

The Electronic/Digital Space

The JET Library provides a variety of electronic resources for students, faculty, and staff of Molloy. JET librarians and staff create accessible digital content such as video tutorials with closed captioning. In most cases, third-party vendors are responsible for providing accessible content in their databases, journals, videos, etc.

Summary of Features for Streaming Video, Audio, or Image Collections

The links below take you to the database, collection, or platform.

Summary of Features for Databases and Journal Collections

The links below take you to the database, collection, or platform.

Windows Ease of Access - Keyboard Shortcuts

As of 1/30/2023, the Ease of Access menu is available on all student computers in the library.

Available on Library PCs

Press these keys

 To do this
No

Windows logo key + u

 Open the Ease of Access Settings Menu
Yes Windows logo key + the plus sign (+) Turn Magnifier on
Yes Windows logo key + Esc Turn Magnifier off
Yes Plus sign (+) or Minus sign (-) When Magnifier is on, zoom in or out
No

Windows logo key + Ctrl + C

This will toggle to the selected filter, i.e. Inverted or Grayscale

Color Settings need to be enabled in Ease of Access settings first.
Yes Windows logo key + Ctrl + Enter Turn Narrator on or off
No

Windows logo key + Ctrl + N

 Open Narrator settings
Yes Windows logo key + Ctrl + S Turn on Windows Speech Recognition
Yes Windows logo key + Ctrl + O Turn on the On-Screen Keyboard

This is not a complete list - more information can be found at the link below