Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library 101

Get to the know the library

Directions on finding books in the catalog

The JET Library contains over 100,000 items, this includes not only books but videos/DVD's, instructional materials, and more.

Finding Print Books in the Catalog:

From the Library homepage, simply type your title or keyword(s) into the box. Select "Library Catalog" from the drop-down menu then click the magnifying glass.

screenshot of JETfind search box on library homepage with Library Catalog selected the dropdown menu

Note: For ebooks, it is best to select "Everything" from the drop-down as some ebooks are in electronic collections (Articles & more) and others are in the Library Catalog.

From your result list, find the book that you are looking for. Click on the Title - or Availability link of the book to see the full record. This will show you if the book is available, what collection it is in (circulating, reference, etc.) and the Call Number

screenshot of library catalog search result list for the search term google

screenshot of book full record with call number highlighted

Finding Books within the Library:

  • Every book has a call number. The Library's collection is arranged by the Library of Congress Classification and the call number will be a combination of letters and numbers.
  • If the location indicates it is available and in the Circulating Collection, the book can be checked out.
  • Login to place a hold on the book for pick up when you come to the library.
  • If the location is listed as Reference or Reserves, the item can only be viewed on the library premises (i.e. it cannot be checked out).
  • Use the Mapit Feature, Library Floor Plan, or LibNav to assist you in locating your book once you have the call number.

The search option you use will depend on what you already know:

  • By Title - if you know the exact title of the book
  • By Author - if you know the name of the author (be sure to enter it last name, first name)
  • By Subject - if you want to look at all the books under a specific category (often a good place to start if you're not sure of your topic)
  • By Keyword - if you want to find a specific word or phrase in any part of a book's catalog record.

 

New to the Collection

 

Molloy's Catalog allows you to search for items that have been entered into the catalog by7, 30, or 90 days. Note: not all search terms will have all 3 date options in the New Items filter.

On any search results page, scroll towards the bottom of the filters which are located on the left. Expand the New Items filter, and select your date range.

screenshot of New Item filter with the date options

If you wish to set up an RSS feed for the search, sign in to your account, save the search, then click on the RSS icon.

screenshot of new item filter and option to save the search

screenshot of saved searches in favorites with option to click RSS feed icon

QR codes replace Text It option

Instead of texting, the new JETfind uses QR codes and permalinks. 

Snapping a pic of the QR codes will open the item to your phone's web browser. If you are browsing the catalog from home, loading the book's location into your phone makes it very easy to retrieve it once you are in the library. Additionally - whether you're in the library or not -  QR-ingi the information also means you won't have to print each record out or write down the precise call number(s). Lastly, it's a 'greener' way to go!

Just open your smartphone's camera, hover over the QR code and the rest will happen automatically.

 

screenshot of search result page with the QR code icon

screenshot of QR code for items

What if we don't have it?

There are several ways to obtain material that Molloy does not have:

Illustration of earth with three books images and title "Interlibrary loan" in the middle

Image of a red box with a magnifying glass inside

Research Loan Program (RLP)*: RLP allows the student to borrow books from participating local institutions. View a list of Long Island Libraries participating in the RLP program. Ask a librarian for details if you are considering this service.

*For both ILL and RLP, a librarian should be consulted prior to determine if attaining the material from another institution is the only option. Valid I.D. card required for both.


 

Illustration of a reader holding a book

Image of OCLC Worldcat logo

  •  A WorldCat zip code proximity search will show both public and academic institutions that have the  material and are the closest in distance to your location.

Image of the New York Public Library Lion logo

  •   Did you know that any person who lives, works, attends school or pays property taxes in New York State is eligible to receive a New York Public Library card free of charge? See if you qualify, or apply now.

     

Image of NOVELNY logo

  • The New York Online Virtual Electronic Library offers a wide array of access to newspapers, databases and reference resources. Most schools, colleges and universities already provide access to NOVELNY, however, any New York resident can also log in with their NY State Driver's license number.
UA-42961638-1