JET Home
Chat is loading...
Skip to main content

Library 101: Mobile Options

Molloy Mobile Library

With the September 2014 redesign of the library and college website, using the mobile application is optional, as most library webpages have a 'responsive web design' which will automatically render well on tablets and smart phones. At some point, the library may decide to retire its mobile app, but in the meantime, the link below will provide access.

The Link to the James E Tobin Library Mobile Site is: http://molloycollegelibrary.com/m/index.html.

Once there, you can bookmark it to save it to your home screen.

Pubget Mobile

pubget mobileSearch Pubget Mobile from your PDA or Smart Phone by simply selecting Molloy College as your school or have it selected for you by using this link.

Note: On campus users will automatically be recognized.

Using Molloy Mobile Library

It's easy! Simply put the following URL into your PDA or SmartPhone: http://molloycollegelibrary.com/m/index.html and gain small screen access to many of the library's resources:

  • Search for Articles in EbscoHost, HW Wilson databases and other mobile friendly sites such as the National Library of Medicine.
  • Search for Books in the Catalog
  • Browse over 70 research guides
  • Contact a librarian via chat, email or phone

Nursing Recommendations

Please note that fees (sometimes steep) are associated with these apps. There is also a review available that recommends which PDA or SmartPhone works best within the practice of nursing.

Suffolk Mobile Library for Droid

Suffolk Mobile Library is an application for the Android OS. It is available on the Android Market, free of charge. Editions for Blackberry and Apple devices will be available at a later date. Information regarding the app plus a link to download is also available here or on its Facebook page.

Attn: Blackberry Users

Subscription databases are provided through various providers. Javascript must be enabled to use them. Blackberry users can find information on enabling javascript here.

Mobile Library Apps

Many library resources are also available via a downloadable app in the iTunes store as well as on Blackberry App World and the Android Market. The following lists recommended apps for the iphone - check your desired provider by searching on the apps name



Science Direct offers a mobile app to access subscribed elsevier resources

JAMA  Mobile Reader The JAMA Network Reader is the new digital source for the entire JAMA Network. It gives you anytime, anywhere access to the vital research, reviews, and viewpoints that matter most to your practice.

On iOS and Android devices, you need Bluefire Reader, which is free from the App Store and Google Play. You need an Adobe ID to use Bluefire Reader. Get it from iTunes or GooglePlay.


 

Access My Library - As a registered provider for this service, select Molloy as your school and gain full access to Gale subscription databases for one year. After registering your Molloy email, use the passord molloy to begin using the databases.

PubMed on Tap - Depending on the level of desired access, PubMed can be free, $2.99 or $9.99. More apps from NLM...

 

WorldCat Mobile - Find materials in local libraries near you - anywhere in the world - including Molloy College!

 

Browzine- Read our open access journals on your tablet without having to sign into our databases.

Dictionary.com - Free application that is both a dictionary and a thesaurus.


 

Dropbox - Sync and share files between Macs and PCs and iPhones, iPads, Blackberrys and Androids.

 

GoodReader - It’s sometimes tough to find the time to read scholarly literature. This is a very useful app for reading documents in Word & PDF format.

Medscape Mobile for iPhone, iPad, Droid and Blackberry: Includes drug reference, drug interaction checker, desease and condition reference, procedures and protocols, and specialty-focused medical news.

webmd

WebMD Mobile for iPhone / iPad: Check your symptoms, access drug & treatment information, get first aid essentials, and check local health listings on the go.

OvidToday-Download the app from Wolters Kluwer to browse, read and save articles from any current journal issue   available from your Molloy's Ovid subscription.

 

 

The Easy Bib App available on Apple and Android creates accurate MLA, APA, and Chicago style citations in seconds by scanning a book bar code or by typing the name of a book. Also works with iPad and iPod Touch, but camera on these devices requires that barcodes need to be held steady and at a proper distance for the scanner to pick up.

Available for free on Apple and Android devices, the new and improved The Lancet mobile app offers Online Only and Print & Online subscribers rapid access to recently published content from The Lancet family of journals.

Non-subscribers can download the app for free and view article abstracts. Individual journal issues and annual app subscriptions can be purchased from the iTunes Store.

UA-42961638-1