chat loading...

Faculty Resources

Information to help you navigate library information and services.

Melissa Gebbia discusses OERs

Introduction to Open Educational Resources

Evaluating materials

Before you begin using OERs, you should evaluate the materials. Here are some things to consider:

  • Is it the appropriate level for your students?
  • Does it cover what you are looking to discuss? 
  • Does it have a creative commons license? What are the permissions granted to you? 
  • Has the work been peer reviewed? 
  • What is the reputation of the author? What is the reputation of the source? 
  • Are sources properly cited? 
  • Is it enhanced with pictures, graphics, or videos? 
  • Is it accessible to students with disabilities? 

At the JET library we are constantly trying to improve services for constituency groups across the college. In an effort to better understand current open educational resources (OERs) and open textbook usage, please take a few moments to complete this quick survey. Your responses are anonymous and will have a direct impact on services provided for students and faculty.

OER Survey Link

What are OER?

Open Educational Resources are teaching and learning materials that provide users with (1) free and unfettered access and (2) 5R legal permissions to retain, reuse, revise, remix, and redistribute them, that can be used to replace traditional expensive learning resources (such as textbooks). You can use these web sites to find freely accessible content on the web which grants some or all of the rights listed above.  See individual materials for specific permissions and rights.  These materials include course modules, videos, worksheets, powerpoint presentations, and even entire textbooks, which can be linked to or loaded on your course page in Canvas. 

The JET's OER coursemap suggests OERs and open textbooks that may work for specific classes. Scroll down to a course you are prepping for to see a few options you might want to consider. You can also contact a library liaison to help you gather other source material that may help you in creating course packs for your students. 

Canvas Commons

undefined

The Canvas Commons has over 100,000 items you can easily import directly into your course page, including modules, images, documents, quizzes, even complete courses. To search, you must log into your canvas account, then choose the Commons icon on the left: 

undefined

Institutional Collections

Openstax college logo

Developed by Rice University

OpenStax College offers students free textbooks that meet scope and sequence requirements for most courses. These are peer-reviewed texts written by professional content developers. Adopt a book today for a turnkey classroom solution or modify it to suit your teaching approach. Free online and low-cost in print, OpenStax College books are built for today’s student budgets.

SUNY Open Textbooks  

Developed by the State University of New York

The mission of Open SUNY Textbooks is to provide an academic-friendly publishing model and infrastructure which supports faculty adoption, remixing, and creation of open educational resources (OER) and courses.

MIT Open Courseware   

Developed by the Massachusetts Institute of Technology 

MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity. The collection has content from well over 2,000 courses in a wide variety of disciplines.  

undefined

From UC Davis, the LibreTexts mission is to unite students, faculty and scholars in a cooperative effort to develop an easy-to-use online platform for the construction, customization, and dissemination of open educational resources (OER) to reduce the burdens of unreasonable textbook costs to our students and society.

Aggregators

The Open Textbook Library provides a growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks.

OER Commons Open Educational Resources logo

Developed by the Institute for the study of knowledge management in education

Established in 2007, OER Commons is a comprehensive open learning network where educators from all levels - pre-K to Graduate School - can collaborate and/or share courses and other learning materials. Resources include nearly 600 freely accessible post secondary open text books.

undefined

DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ is independent. All funding is via donations, 22% of which comes from sponsors and 78% from members and publisher members. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed in DOAJ. All data is freely available.

DOAJ operates an education and outreach program across the globe, focussing on improving the quality of applications submitted.

MERLOT logo

Developed by California State University

MERLOT is a free and open online community of resources designed primarily for faculty, staff and students of higher education from around the world to share their learning materials and pedagogy.   MERLOT is a leading edge, user-centered, collection of peer reviewed higher education, online learning materials, cataloged by registered members and a set of faculty development support services.

 

undefined

The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.

Teaching Commons

Teaching Commons  brings together high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities. Curated by librarians and their institutions, the Teaching Commons includes open access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, and more. The Teaching Commons collects OER from the Digital Commons of various institutions and is powered by Berkley Press.

Skills Commons Open for Learning

Skills Common is a free and open digital library of Workforce Training Materials; preparing the workforce for  21st century employment through TAACCCT. SkillsCommons.org is designed and managed by the California State University and its MERLOT program for the Department of Labor’s TAACCCT program under a 4 year cooperative agreement. The Open Educational Resources (OER) are produced by community colleges across the nation and can be found, reused, revised, retained, redistributed and remixed by individuals, institutions, and industry.

 

Galileo Open Learning Materials

Developed by the University System of Georgia

GALILEO open learning materials brings together open educational resources throughout the University System of Georgia, including open textbooks and auxiliary materials.This repository is administrated by Affordable Learning Georgia, and initiative of GALILEO and the University System of Georgia which aims to reduce the cost of textbooks to students and contribue to their retention, progression, and graduation.

 

1findr is a platform for research discovery and analytics. Indexing 90 million articles—of which 27 million are available in OA—it represents the largest curated collection worldwide of scholarly research. The platform aims to include all articles published in peer-reviewed journals, in all fields of research, in all languages and from every country.

undefined

A joint effort of the California State University system, California Community Colleges, and the University of California. Featuring course materials and examples of how faculty utilize various materials. 

OER publishers

OpenBook Publishers

Open Book Publishers books are published in hardback, paperback, pdf and ebook editions, but they also include a free online edition that can be read via their website, downloaded, reused or embedded anywhere. 
 

Open Square is NYU Press’s platform for publishing and reading open access books. A browser-based reading platform, Open Square enables us to increase the impact of scholarly work by making it freely available in a digital format and to experiment with new ways of presenting scholarship and adding enhanced content to traditionally published books. Open Square features new and recently published titles as well as a growing library of classic backlist publications. NYU Press is committed to expanding our offerings in both categories. Print copies of any of these books can be purchased by clicking the “Buy the Book” link on each title’s detail page.

UA-42961638-1