chat loading...

Faculty Resources

Information to help you navigate library information and services.

Demystifying Databases

It may seem like we have a lot of databases (there are over 190 in the A-Z listing), but we really don’t. As a tool for students, we break out subsets of larger databases as they are easier to identify by title or subject collection – as opposed a large multidisciplinary database name like ProQuest Central or Gale's Academic One. Here are some examples:

EBSCO Subject Collections: The EBSCOhost Databases link above will default to Databases by Subject. The databases are organized by subject area and you can select a subject area or the individual databases listed below. A description is available under each available database. 

If Math & Computer Science Databases is selected - then 3 databases are selected.


 

The ProQuest Databases link above will take you to the Select Databases. Click on View By Subject to see the subject ists.

In this example, Business would search 8 databases.


 

The Gale Databases link above will list all of the databases. Descriptions are below the collections.

 

100% Peer Reviewed Databases - no need to filter!

Recommended Resources by Subject

In some cases, there is more than one appropriate resource. There is no expectation that anyone - including librarians - will gain full mastery of all of these resources; however, if you are unsure about what's available within a given discipline, the following recommendations are based on both ease of use and quantity & quality of content.‚Äč You can also visit the Databases by Subject pages.

Arts

BCES

Business

Communications

Communication Sciences & Disorders

Criminal Justice

Education

English & Literature

Health Sciences & Nursing

Psychology

Sociology & Social Work

UA-42961638-1