Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Database, Journal, & Article Searching

This guide explains how to find and cite scholarly articles, as well as offers information on pdf vs html, article linking and much more.

Finding Print & Online Journals - Does Molloy carry a journal I want?

This page describes how to locate electronic or print journals by title or subject. If you are interested in finding articles using keywords you are on the wrong page and can find information on that here. To access the Journal Locator and skip the tutorial, take me there now. An alternative option for browsing journals by category or subject is to use Browzine, link above.

From the library's homepage, select the Journal Finder button. This brings you to the main interface for finding journals. You can search for a journal by title or subject. 

 

 

Searching for Journals by Title:

As you begin to type words in, the Journal Locator will begin suggesting titles. Search by Title or ISSN

screenshot of the journal finder

As an example, if you were looking for "The Atlantic Monthly", as you begin typing you would begin to see a list of suggestions. 

TIP: If you know the precise name or ISSN, type that instead of relying on the auto-populated suggestion.

screenshot of suggestions in journal finder

The results appear in alphabetical order - to see more information click on the Title or Availability Link

screenshot of journal finder result list

Note: If you are off campus, after selecting a database you will be prompted to enter your network or Canvas username and password. If you require additional assistance with this, please see Accessing Off Campus Resources.

Below is an image of the database options as well as date coverage for each database. There may be some overlap between databases.

screenshot of access options for the journal

If accessing a journal electronically, once you click on the database of choice you can begin searching for articles. Get help on searching for articles. Also note, that if the library has the journal in print it will tell you that also.  


Searching for Journals by Subject:

You may also browse by subject to isolate journals within a specific category or even a specific medical category:

screenshot of journal finder categories

Using Art, Architecture & Applied Arts as an example, clicking the chevron (arrow) will expand the list of subcategories

journal categories click on the chevron to expand the subject list

Clicking on the title, will open the journals in the category or subcategory

screenshot of the arts and crafts subcategory in the journal finder with journals listed to the right

Click on the title or availability link for a journal, then you can select a database or use the Search Inside feature to search within that journal.

screenshot of journal from the journal finder with database and search inside options