JET LibGuides logo

Skip to Main Content

Blended and Online Learning: Library Resources

This guide is intended for faculty teaching web-enhanced, hybrid and online courses at the post-secondary level.

Library Resources for Course Design

Leveraging the JET Library for Course Design Resources

In addition to being a vital resource for Molloy students, the James E. Tobin Library provides many resources for faculty that support online course design. Our Faculty Development page provides many links to Library LibGuide resources by subject area, but this page includes reference to resources relevant to all disciplines. 

Library in Canvas

The below screenshot identifies the access to the JET Library's main web page, offered conveniently in the left navigation of the Canvas dashboard for students and faculty. Faculty are encouraged to refer students to this easy-access link to the JET Library's resources. 

screenshot of Canvas dashboard with an arrow pointing to the Library icon on the left menu bar

Off-Campus Alternative Link

If your students encounter any difficulties accessing that link, you may refer them to the JET Library's Off-Campus Help LibGuide page. 

Leganto Reserves+

A new Canvas-integrated tool Leganto Reserves+ now empowers faculty to leverage JET Library resources in presenting their course readings. To add the tool, go into your Canvas course's Settings, select the Navigation tab at the top of the page, and find Leganto Reserves+ as a tool among the inactive group at the bottom. Enable the tool (or drag it to the active tools in the top group), click the Save button at the bottom of the page, and it will be available in your left-hand menu navigation of the course. 

LibGuide page for Leganto Reserves+

The JET Library hosts a page with many resources for faculty who would like to learn more about using Leganto Reserves+. Faculty may also schedule a consultation with an instructional designer from BOL at CourseDesign@molloy.edu. 

Improving Accessibility with JETfind

Do you have PDF files of scholarly articles in your course that are showing a low Ally (accessibility) score? You can solve two problems at once by linking those PDFs to the JET Library's databases using Ally. 

Process

  1. Identify files to link.
  2. Go to JETfind and search for the article. 
  3. If the article is in the JET Library collection, copy the permalink and note the bibliographic information. 
  4. On the Canvas page with the PDF, click on the Ally gauge. 
  5. Click on the "How to fix this" question and select "No" to the first question prompt and "Yes" to the second. 
  6. Paste in the permalink and enter the remaining bibliographic information. 
  7. Save the changes. 

In addition to leveraging the library database's accessibility tools (bringing the file's accessibility score to 100%), you will be linking the reading to the JET Library, who will then have more accurate records regarding what databases are being utilized by Molloy faculty and students. 

If you have questions about this process, please contact an instructional designer at CourseDesign@molloy.edu. 

Instructional Materials for your Online/Hybrid Course

This box presents information relevant to faculty who are building or re-assessing their course instructional materials. 

Copyright and Canvas

For guidance on questions of copyright and fair use, please consult the Copyright and Canvas LibGuide page. 

Open Educational Resources

For faculty who would like to leverage open educational resources (OER) as a way to save on textbook costs for their students, please consult the OER LibGuide page. For questions about the OER resources, please contact Susan Bloom at sbloom@molloy.edu.