The Library has numerous electronic databases that provide full-text access to articles in magazines, newspapers, trade publications and scholarly journals. Where to start will depend on the research you are doing and the type of information you need to find.
If you know the name of the specific database, use the A-Z Listing.
Go to the DATABASES BY SUBJECT button on the homepage, then select the subject of your choice. You may find your topic falls under more than one potential category (e.g. Philosophy or Religion).
To search for news, newspapers or current events:
If you know the TITLE of a specific magazine, newspaper or journal:
Searching for broad topics (i.e., a paper on "sociology") will overwhelm you with non-specific sociology articles from any given database. In order to determine a more specific subject within Sociology (and therefore, appropriate keywords), consider the following strategies:
If you are off campus, navigate to database resources exactly as if you were on campus. When you attempt to enter either a restricted area or a subscription database, you will be asked to authenticate. Here's what you do:
Note: The authentication method was updated in January 2017 to username/password instead of a 14 digit barcode.
Here is a sample of what the authentication page looks like.
Problems connecting? If you receive strange errors or the system persistently hangs, follow the instructions in the left hand box titled "Off Campus Solution!" on this page.
If you know the name of the database, then go to A-Z Databases for an alphabetized list of all JET databases. To search by subject area, go to the Databases by Subject page and select the appropriate one.
(From: Lane Wilkinson, University of Tennessee at Chattanooga)