JET Home
chat loading...
Skip to main content

Freshman Studies Resource Guide: Google Scholar

Search Google Scholar

If the articles in the results link to full text, you will see "Molloy Full Text" to the right of the result.

If you are searching from Off Campus, you will be asked to authenticate using your network or Canvas username and password in order to see results from Molloy.

You can also configure your home computer or laptop  for these settings in a few simple steps described here

Importing Citations from Google Scholar into RefWorks


For Direct Export:

Note:  To configure the direct export to RefWorks, you must configure Google Scholar by clicking on the Scholars Preferences link and selecting RefWorks as your default in the Bibliography Manager area.

  1. Conduct your search in Google Scholar. If you have not authenticated, you must also login to RefWorks at this time.

  2. Each record displayed will have an Import into RefWorks link.  Clicking on the link will launch the RefWorks login page.

  3. Once you log in, you are brought automatically to the Edit view of the reference.  If you do not wish to edit the record, you can navigate to any other area of RefWorks.

  4. Your record is stored in your Last Imported Folder.  

To Manually Save and Export Records:

Note:  You will  need to change your Scholars Preferences and select Reference Manager as your default bibliography manager in order to save a text file of your export to your computer.  If you have an ISI ResearchSoft product (Reference Manager, EndNote or ProCite) installed on your computer the following directions may not work.

  1. Conduct your search in Google Scholar.
  2. Each record displayed will have an Import into Reference Manager link.  Click on the link.
  3. You will be prompted to either Open or Save the file (which is already named and is a . ris file).  Choose Save.
  4. Select the location where you want to save the file and Click Save..
  5. Log in to RefWorks and Select References/Import from the toolbar. .
  6. Select RIS Format as the data source and the database.
  7. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer and Click Import.
  8. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Configuring Google Scholar From Home - A one time set up to view Molloy's holdings!

On Campus Users:

No configuration is necessary. When you conduct a search within Google Scholar, articles that can be linked to full text will have a "Molloy Full Text" hyperlink at the right of the results:

Off Campus Users:

You can connect via the instructions in the GET IT FAST box  or use the GoogleScholar searchbox provided on this guide. You can also manually configure Google Scholar on your home computer or laptop in a few simple steps:

    1. Once you are in Google Scholar, click Scholar Preferences in the upper right hand corner.
    2. Scroll to where you see Library Links and enter Molloy then click the Find Library Button
    3. Put a check in all available resources.

 

 

Setting Additional Preferences: While in the Scholar preferences, you may also want to take a moment to set the Search Language to English and if desired, set the bibliography manager at the bottom to RefWorks. Note: You must be authenticated into RefWorks first in order for the export feature to work. More about exporting to RefWorks can be found in the box located on the left.

 

  1. Test your settings. Conduct a sample search. Links to Molloy should appear to the right, links to ProQuest and RefWorks appear below the citation as indicated in the first screenshot above. Didn't work? Use the methods indicated in the GET IT FAST box on the right.

Web of Science via Google Scholar

Web of Science has partnered with Google Scholar so that when one searches Google Scholar, a web of science link will appear under the result.

When you select an article from the results page in Google Scholar, you will be taken into Web of Science where it will show you what other articles have cited the one you choose, both indexed in Web of Science Core Collection and not.

When you are taken into Web of Science, the process for obtaining Full Text has changed slightly. As many of you know, you cannot limit to full text in Web of Science. You can limit to Open Access on the left side panel but that will not include articles for which we have paid subscriptions.

Therefore, the best way from what I can see is to select the Full Text icon under the article and then if you see NCBI appears under At Publisher’s Site, select that. This will take you to a link resolver page (kind of like our Serial Solutions one) where you can Link Out to the full text.

Get it fast

If students and faculty access Google Scholar via our A-Z Database links, no configuration is required. Simply enter your network or Canvas username and password and you will be automatically linked to all of Molloy's full text databases.

Or, click on the link below.

UA-42961638-1