FST Resource Guide

The JET Library contains over 100,000 items, this includes not only books but videos/DVD's, instructional materials, and more.

From the Library homepage, simply type your title or keyword(s) into the box. Select "Library Catalog" from the drop-down menu then click the magnifying glass.

Note: For ebooks, it is best to select "Everything" from the drop-down as some ebooks are in electronic collections (Articles & more) and others are in the Library Catalog.

From your result list, find the book that you are looking for. Click on the Title - or Availability link of the book to see the full record. This will show you if the book is available, what collection it is in (circulating, reference, etc.) and the Call Number

Finding Books within the Library:

• Every book has a call number. The Library's collection is arranged by the Library of Congress Classification and the call number will be a combination of letters and numbers.
• If the location indicates it is available and in the Circulating Collection, the book can be checked out.
• Login to place a hold on the book for pick up when you come to the library.
• If the location is listed as Reference or Reserves, the item can only be viewed on the library premises (i.e. it cannot be checked out).
• Use the Mapit Feature and/or the Library Floor Plan to assist you in locating your book once you have the call number.

The search option you use will depend on what you already know:

• By Title - if you know the exact title of the book
• By Author - if you know the name of the author (be sure to enter it last name, first name)
• By Subject - if you want to look at all the books under a specific category (often a good place to start if you're not sure of your topic)
• By Keyword - if you want to find a specific word or phrase in any part of a book's catalog record.

Instead of texting, the new JETfind uses QR codes and permalinks. 

Snapping a pic of the QR codes will open the item to your phone's web browser. If you are browsing the catalog from home, loading the book's location into your phone makes it very easy to retrieve it once you are in the library. Additionally - whether you're in the library or not -  QR-ingi the information also means you won't have to print each record out or write down the precise call number(s). Lastly, it's a 'greener' way to go!

Just open your smartphone's camera, hover over the QR code and the rest will happen automatically.

In addition to the location, you will need to know the book's call number, which will lead you to where the book sits on the shelf. The Library's collection is arranged by Library of Congress Classification and the call number will be a combination of letters and numbers.

In the catalog, this book appears as:

Bryant, Edward
Tsunami : the underrated hazard.

If you can't find a book where you think it should be, ask a librarian for help.

General Search Strategies

• Start broad and pare down - it is always easier to narrow a large amount of results than it is to increase
• Use subject hyperlinks whenever possible - this will help you to navigate throughout the catalog and databases
• Limit the amount of words when phrase searching - you really should not enter more than three words; if it's an actual phrase, put quotes around it.
• If you are using boolean operators such as AND or OR - remember that AND will limit results and OR will increase results
• Call numbers are utilizing the Library of Congress classfication system - which basically is a good thing because subjects are grouped together - so once you find one good book, you will likely see similar related titles to the left and right of it.

Once you have entered keywords and have a list of results

TIP #1: once you have your results, sometimes it is helpful to set the SORT BY dropdown to Date (Newest First)

TIP #2: changing the format on the left hand side to ALL FORMATS will bring up available articles within the same subject area