JET Library Policies

ILLiad is a "paperless" and fully automated Interlibrary Loan system is available to faculty members, students, administrators and staff of Molloy University.

After a one-time process of setting up an account, patrons will be able to login and request books and/or articles and monitor the progress of those requests. For articles, patrons will be able to retrieve .pdf copies of the material directly from within their ILLiad account, as well as check due dates and / or request an extension on a book.

Before initiating the request, think about the following:

• ILL is not the solution if you require the material right away - books or articles can take up to three weeks to arrive at the library
• Is the article truly unique enough where it is worth the wait? There may be numerous articles similar in nature that are available immediately in full text. Not sure? Ask a librarian!
• Are you sure we do not own or already have full text access to the material? Check for books. Check for articles (journal title, article title, volume, issue and page number(s) required).
• You'll need a valid Molloy ID card that does not have any outstanding library fees.
• Other things to know:
  • Materials usually not available for Loan include: Brand new materials, textbooks, reference materials, reserve materials, media, photographs, archival material, microfilm, primary documents, dissertations, rare books, entire issues of journals and materials from Special Collections.
  • Loan Period: This is determined by the lending library, so please pay careful attention to the due date once you receive the materials.
  • Renewals: Must be requested in advance of the material's due date and is at the discretion of the lending library.
  • Notification: When the requested materials are received at the library, unless otherwise specified, the notification method will be the patron's Molloy email address.
  • Copyright Restrictions: The library cannot process more than five articles published within the last 5 years from a single title per calendar year.

The Course Reserves Service handles all print, electronic and multimedia materials that are placed on reserve for all the classes offered through Molloy College.  The Reserve/E-Reserve can be accessed on a course by course basis via Canvas.

E-Reserve offers digital copies of book chapters and journal articles that faculty would like to make available for students 24/7. Students can access E-reserve materials from anywhere with an available internet connection. 

All reserve books and multimedia reserves are located in the ILL/Reserves/Media services area within the library.

Access to reserve materials is limited to the faculty member for a particular course as well as the students enrolled in that course for which the materials have been placed on reserve.
 

Reserve Policies and Procedures

• To check out reserve materials, you must be enrolled for the current semester with an updated Molloy ID.
• Most reserve materials are used in the library only, except for those books reserved for doctoral students.
• Students can only request two reserve books at a time.
• Course Reserve items may be checked out for either two hours or longer depending on the reserve policy for that item.        
• Reserve materials may be renewed once as needed if no other students are waiting to use those reserve materials.
• Reserve materials must be returned fifteen minutes before the library closes.  There is a fine for reserve items returned not returned by the designed time.
• Reserve materials may be renewed once as needed, as long as there are no holds on them.

Loan Periods
 

Media Reserve Materials:
 

Print Reserve Fines:

Media Reserve Fines:
 

I.      Placing Materials on Reserves / E-Reserves

• Login into Canvas to access and manage your reserves. Need help? Call the reserves desk at ext 3914 or email us

II.    Material that may be placed on reserve

• Books  
• E-reserves - articles or book chapters
• Multimedia- audio/video material

III.   Policies for Placing Materials on Reserves

• Submission Deadlines
• Processing Time
• Limits

IV.  Things to think about before using copyrighted materials

• What counts as fair use for educators?
• What is protected by copyright?
• What is not protected by copyright?
• Quick link to Copyright & Fair Use in the Library 

Placing Materials on Reserve / E-Reserve

Materials are placed on reserve at the request of faculty members for the educational, non-commercial use of students enrolled in a course.  Access is limited to the faculty member for a particular course as well as the students enrolled in that course for which the items have been placed on reserve. As stated in the ALA Model Policy, "materials placed on reserve by faculty are not intended to constitute all of the materials assigned for the course."

Material that may be placed on Reserve -- Books

According to fair use guidelines, the following materials may be placed on reserve at the request of faculty:
1.    Course reserve materials that are intended for non-commercial educational use.

2.    Copies of materials that are legally owned by the Library or a faculty member.

3.    A faculty member's personal copy of copyrighted A/V material that is a commercially produced audio/video recording with accompanying written permission from the copyright owner. (Personal or "home-made" copies of, or excerpts from, commercially produced A/V material are illegal and may not be placed on reserve.)

4.    Copies of off-air broadcast recordings (for a period not exceeding 45 days) for use by students in a specific class. All copies of such off-air recordings must include a notice of permission from the copyright holder for the broadcasted program.

5.    Materials available in the public domain.

6.    Unpublished materials (such as theses, dissertations, power point presentations, faculty notes or student papers) with written permission from the copyright owner.

7.    Books and multimedia not owned by the library or the faculty member. If the library or the faculty member does not own the item that is to be placed on reserve, the library will purchase it if possible and place it on reserve.

8.    Articles not available through the library databases. If the library or the faculty member does not have access to a journal or a newspaper article that needs to be placed on reserve, the Library will obtain it through interlibrary loan. The faculty member then needs to obtain copyright permission to place this material on reserve.

The library does not purchase textbooks, but will place a faculty member's personal copy of a textbook or course pack on reserve for one semester. Permission must be obtained from the copyright holder by the faculty member if the same reserve item(s) are to be kept on reserve for the same course for consecutive academic terms.

Material that may be placed on Reserves -- E-reserves

The policies governing E-Reserves are based on the provisions of fair use (17 U.S.C. 107).  All materials placed on E-Reserve will be at the request of Molloy College faculty members for the expressed purpose of non-commercial educational use. Authorized access to E-Reserve material is available free of charge to Molloy College faculty and students (on and off campus) under one or more of the following conditions:

·         Access is limited to the faculty member who placed the material on reserve and the students enrolled in that course.

·         Access to E-Reserve material for a particular course is limited to the duration of that course.

·         The material on reserve is available in a database to which the library subscribes electronically.

·         The material is available in the public domain.

·         An individual chapter from a book or an article from a periodical that is placed on E-Reserve is from an item legally obtained by the faculty member placing it on reserve or by the library.   (An entire book, collection, or course pack may not be placed on E-Reserve).

·         The total amount of material made available on E-Reserve for a specific course, as a matter of fair use, is limited to a small portion of the total assigned reading for that particular course.

·         Digital transmission of A/V materials for a specific class is limited to the amount needed to satisfy the pedagogical needs of that class.

·         No small portion(s) of any DVD may be reproduced and placed on E-reserve when this is considered to be "interfering with technological access controls that a copyright holder placed on a copyrighted work" as such duplication may be interfere with the anti-circumvention provision of the Copyright Act.

·         No material will be placed on E-Reserve without copyright permission when the nature, scope or extent of this material is judged by the Molloy Library to exceed the reasonable limits of fair use.

·         Permission must be obtained from the copyright holder by the faulty member who intends to keep any reserve materials for a specific course on E-Reserve for consecutive academic terms, or if the reserve item in question is a required or optional reading for an individual course taught in multiple sections by many instructors.

·         Material in electronic format may be retained on E-Reserve while permission is being sought or until the next academic term in which the material will be used, but in no event for more than three calendar years, including the year in which the materials were last used.

Material that may be placed on reserve -- Multimedia

Audiovisual and other multimedia materials are subject to copyright protection. In the Second Report of the Register of Copyrights (January 1988), it states, "reproduction of music, pictorial and graphic works, motion pictures and most audiovisual works for private study, scholarship, and research is to be governed by fair use under Section 107"  of the Copyright Act. Under section 108 (d) and section 108(e) it states that copying of audiovisual materials for use in reserve collections is generally justified under fair use guidelines.

In accordance with copyright guidelines, the following audiovisual materials may be placed on reserve:
 

• Copies of commercially produced A/V materials that were legally purchased by the library.
• A faculty member's personal copy of copyrighted A/V material that is a commercially produced recording with accompanying written permission from the copyright owner. Placing "home-made" copies of, or excerpts from commercially produced multimedia material in a reserve collection is a violation of copyright.
• Streaming full length video is often not permissible under copyright guideline.  If the Library doesn't own the A/V materials requested, it will be purchased subject to review by Media Services librarian. 
• Copies of off-air broadcast recordings (for a period not exceeding 45 days) for use by students in a specific class. All copies of such off-air recordings must include a notice of permission from the copyright holder for the broadcasted program.

Policies for Placing Materials on Reserve:

Submission Deadlines:

The Library will make sure that any reserve materials submitted before the deadlines are available for your students on the first day of semester.

            Fall semester                        August 15

            Winter Session                     December 15

            Spring semester                   January 10

            Summer Sessions               May 10

Processing Time:

The normal processing time is two business days. Requests received during the first weeks of a semester will be processed in the order they are received.

Limits:

·         Print reserve lists are limited to 40 titles per course.

·         Each request for a particular course is restricted to one article per issue of a periodical and no more than 5 articles from the same periodical title not own by the library.

·         All reserve items will be removed at the end of a semester and cannot be placed  for more than two consecutive semester until copyright is obtained from the publishers or copyright owners.

·         Photocopies of an article or book chapter provided by faculty to be placed on E-Reserves must be clean and legible one sided copies.

·         We will place a maximum of 5 copies of a single article or book chapter on reserve.

The responsibilities of faculty at Molloy College in regard to copyright policy:

·         All course materials submitted by instructors must support course related teaching, scholarship or research.

·         Under the fair use guidelines, the amount copied and used should be reasonable and only be the amount needed to accomplish a specific educational purpose. The reserve services librarian will provide information resources and guidance to faculty members to help them evaluate any limits on the amount of material that they may place on reserve.

·         In order to follow the guidelines of fair use, faculty must limit the distribution of course related materials in course packs to single articles or chapters, or several charts, graphs, or illustrations or small portions of performed works including audiovisual works. The general rule is that you cannot distribute copyrighted work without express authorization from the copyright owner.

·         More information about copyright and fair use guidelines are available from the library's research guide: Copyright and Fair Use            

·         Faculty members are responsible for evaluating whether the use of a copyrighted work requires permission or qualifies as fair use. The reserve services librarian will provide information resources and guidance to faculty members to help them in evaluating the qualifications of a specific use as fair use. When permission is required, a faculty member is expected to make any necessary arrangements.

Things to think about before using copyrighted materials:

What counts as fair use for educators?

Fair use does not mean free use. Fair use allows limited use of copyrighted materials for the purposes of teaching and research without getting permission from the copyright holder. It doesn't mean that all educational use is considered fair use.

Please keep in mind that creative commons licenses and public domain repositories of images are not subject to fair use due to the rights they carry.  Although fair use is determined on a case by case basis, ultimate responsibility lies with the user not the library.

What is protected by copyright?

Copyright protects most creative works but to qualify for copyright protection, a work must satisfy two requirements: it must be original, and it must be "fixed in a tangible medium of expression". In order for a work to be "fixed in a tangible medium of expression", it must be recorded using some form of physical medium, whether it is on paper, canvas, or computer disk.

Copyright protects the following list of creative works:

• literary works
• musical works
• dramatic works
• pantomimes and choreographic works
• pictorial, graphic, and sculptural works
• motion pictures and other audiovisual works
• sound recordings
• architectural works

What is not protected by copyright?

Copyright law does not apply to most of the works in the public domain or to works that do not qualify for copyright protection, as stated in the Section 102 of the Copyright Act. These include:

• ideas, concepts, discoveries, theories, and hypotheses
• procedures, processes, system, methods of operation
• scientific principles, theorems, mathematical formulae, laws of nature
• facts, information, data, know-how
• titles, names, short phrases and slogans, common symbols, lettering, slight variations of typographic ornamentation, design, or listings of ingredients or contents.