chat loading...
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

JET Library Policies

policies and circulation/loan period information

Loan Periods and Other Information

The circulating book collection (books that may be taken out of the library with a valid Molloy ID card) are located in the stack rooms within the James E. Tobin Library on the main campus in Rockville Centre. There are two Patron Service points within the library. The primary Patron Service point is in the main Reference Area of the library (the front desk upon entering the library). The second Patron Service point is located on the first floor of the library within Patron Services/Rochelle Sager Media Center. Signage within the library will direct you to these areas.

There is no charge to use circulating collections (books and media); however there are fees for circulating materials that are not returned. Any fees associated with materials not returned to the library are the responsibility of the cardholder.

The circulating collections are available to faculty members, students, administrators and staff of Molloy University.

These materials can be found in the Molloy Catalog and are shelved by Library of Congress call numbers.

Access to Circulating Collections

A valid Molloy ID card is required to check out any circulating material. Patrons without a Molloy ID card will be asked to provide information to verify they have an active library account. If a patron is not in the library system, they will not be permitted to take books out of the library. 

ID cards may be obtained at Public Safety, 516.323.3500.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

ILLiad is a "paperless" and fully automated Interlibrary Loan system is available to faculty members, students, administrators and staff of Molloy University.

After a one-time process of setting up an account, patrons will be able to login and request books and/or articles and monitor the progress of those requests. For articles, patrons will be able to retrieve .pdf copies of the material directly from within their ILLiad account, as well as check due dates and / or request an extension on a book.

Before initiating the request, think about the following:

  • ILL is not the solution if you require the material right away - books or articles can take up to three weeks to arrive at the library
  • Is the article truly unique enough where it is worth the wait? There may be numerous articles similar in nature that are available immediately in full text. Not sure? Ask a librarian!
  • Are you sure we do not own or already have full text access to the material? Check for books. Check for articles (journal title, article title, volume, issue and page number(s) required).
  • You'll need a valid Molloy ID card that does not have any outstanding library fees.
  • Other things to know:
    • Materials usually not available for Loan include: Brand new materials, textbooks, reference materials, reserve materials, media, photographs, archival material, microfilm, primary documents, dissertations, rare books, entire issues of journals and materials from Special Collections.
    • Loan Period: This is determined by the lending library, so please pay careful attention to the due date once you receive the materials.
    • Renewals: Must be requested in advance of the material's due date and is at the discretion of the lending library.
    • Notification: When the requested materials are received at the library, unless otherwise specified, the notification method will be the patron's Molloy email address.
    • Copyright Restrictions: The library cannot process more than five articles published within the last 5 years from a single title per calendar year.
    • Reserves Policies

Loan Period and Renewal For Books

The loan and renewal periods for books are defined in the table below by patron type. Books may be renewed in person at the Patron Services desk, over the phone by calling 516.323.3913, or onlineIf a book has been requested by another patron, it cannot be renewed and should be returned to the library on or before the due date.

 

Fees

  • Any fees associated with materials not returned to the library are the responsibility of the cardholder.
  • Payment for materials not returned may be made in cash or check. If paid by check, the library account will not be cleared for seven business days.
  • If a library patron fails to return books or media items and has unpaid fees borrowing privileges will be suspended. Borrowing privileges will immediately resume once the fees have been paid.
  • In the case of extreme delinquency, the Bursar will place a "Hold" on the student's account, which would impact their ability to register for future classes and/or receive a diploma upon graduation.
  • Books in reference collections, including the Textbook and Test Preparation collections, are intended for use within the library and cannot be checked out by undergraduate students. Faculty, doctoral and masters students, and Molloy employees, however, may borrow them on a limited basis. 
Patron type Material type Loan period Renewal period Number of Renewals​ Max # of materials at a time​
Undergraduate students Book Circulating 40 days 40 days 2 25
Undergraduate students Book Reference -- -- -- 0

Masters students

Book Circulating 90 days 90 days 1 50
Masters students Book Reference 30 days 30 days 1 5
Doctoral students Book Circulating 90 days 90 days 1 50
Doctoral students Book Reference 60 days 60 days 1 10
Faculty Book Circulating 90 days 90 days 1 50
Faculty Book Reference 60 days 60 days 1 10

Administrators/Staff

Book Circulating 90 days 30 days 1 25
Administrators/Staff Book Reference 30 days 30 days 1 5

 

UA-42961638-1