Zotero displays libraries and collections in the column on the left. Tags are displayed in the lower portion of that column.
Once a collection is highlighted, the items inside it will be displayed in the center column.
When an item in the center column is highlighted, detailed information about that item appears in the right column.
The Library will always show all of your citations.
You can adjust the width of the columns. Drag the line that separates the columns to adjust the widths.
You can drag & drop citations into other collections. This will place the citation in BOTH collections, not move it.
You can then delete the citation from the collection you no longer want it in. In the image below, export was the old collection and the highlighted yellow collection is the new one. Zotero will highlight the collection automatically if a citation item is in more than 1 collection.
If you have a large collection - like the export from RefWorks - you can delete that collection but retain the items within it.
Deleting the collection will move all the citations to Unfiled Items
Move citations one-by-one or select multiple citations and move them as a group
If you delete a citation, it will go to the Trash collection until you permanently delete it
Editing References is simple and intuitive. You can click, type, and save all changes by working in the right column. All changes will be carried over to other desktop applications and Zotero.org once Zotero syncs.
Select the Collection, select the Reference item you wish to edit, the Info screen will appear in the right column.
However over an area. Once it is highlighted blue, you can click on it and edit it. Then hit the ENTER button or click somewhere else to save.
RIGHT CLICK on the title to change it to either Title Case or Sentence Case.
Always check the URL - especially for APA style. The URL listed will most likely be the database in which you got the article.
If you add the PDF of the article, more citation information will usually be added. This PDF pulled over the DOI, ISSN, and some other information.
However, the URL is still not correct for APA style. It should be the journal's website and NOT a database from the library.
Select the Collection, select the Reference, you will see the options in the column on the right. Click the Notes tab.
Click the Add button to add a new note. Click the Minus icon next to a note to remove it.
Select the Collection, select the Reference, you will see the options in the column on the right. Click the Tags tab.
Click Add button to add more tags. Click the Minus icon next to a tag to remove it.