LibGuides: Social Work: A Search for Sources: Reference

Handbooks and Manuals

Comprehensive Handbook of Social Work and Social Welfare. Karen M. Sowers and Catherine N. Dulmus, eds. Hoboken, N.J.: Wiley, 2008. Reference HV40 .C635 2008

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders : DSM-IV-TR. Washington, DC: American Psychiatric Association, 2000. Reference RC455.2 .C4 D536 2000

Evidence-Based Practice Manual: Research and Outcome Measures in Health and Human Services. Albert R. Roberts and Kenneth R. Yeager, eds. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2004. Reference R728 .E94 2004

Handbook of Family Measurement Techniques. John Touliatosm, et al.; eds. Newbury Park, Calif.: Sage, 1990. Reference HQ728 .T68 1990

Handbook of Social Work Practice with Vulnerable and Resilient Populations. Alex Gitterman, ed. New York: Columbia University Press, 2001. Reference HV91 .H265 2001

Handbook of Social Work with Groups. Charles D. Garvin, et al., eds. New York: Guilford Press, 2006. Reference HV45 .H26 2006

Social Work Speaks : National Association of Social Workers Policy Statements, 2006-2009. Washington, DC: NASW Press, 2006. Reference HV88 .N686 2006

Social Workers' Desk Reference. Albert R. Roberts and Gilbert J. Greene, eds. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2002. Reference HV40 .S6464 2002

Directories

Encyclopedia of Associations: a Guide to More than 24,000 National and International Organizations. Kristy A. Swartout, project editior. Farmington Hills, MI: Thomson Gale, 2008. Reference HS17 .E53 2008

Older Americans Information Directory. Millerton, NY : Grey House Pub., 2004. Reference HV1457 .O42.

Reference Books

Encyclopedia articles often have bibliographies or suggested readings that might offer a potential list of articles.

The Social Work Dictionary by Robert L. Barker
Call Number: REF HV12 .B37 1999
ISBN: 0871012987
Does any woman really know her husband? THE WIFE. Enid has been married to the handsome, charismatic lecturer Bernard Finch for over twenty years. But after one fateful supper on board a cruise ship, she starts to wonder, is her husband all that he seems? THE HUSBAND. Bernard said his life began when he met his wife. But, like everyone, he's got a past. And it's threatening to catch up with him. AND A WHOLE LOT OF TROUBLE AT SEA. Frankie Gleeson is a fellow passenger. A man with a long memory and the unshakeable conviction that he and Bernard have met before. Enid's interest is piqued - there couldn't be a better time for her to discover the World Wide Web.
The Encyclopedia of Social Work by Terry Mizrahi; Larry E. Davis
Call Number: REF HV12 .E53 2008
ISBN: 0195310365
Oxford University Press and The National Association of Social Workers are proud to announce that a new, completely updated, revised and expanded 20th edition of this essential work is now available in paperback. The 400 articles in this 4-volume set covers all aspects of social, work frompractice and interventions, social environments, social conditions and challenges, to social policy and history.This new edition of the Encylcopedia includes coverage of areas that have come to the fore since the 1995 publication of the 19th edition, including demographic changes from immigration, technology, the implications of managed care, faith-based assistance, evidence-based practice, gerontology, andtrauma and disaster. Each thoughtful article is written and signed by a top academic or social work practitioner and includes a bibliography for further reading. For even further ease of use, all volumes are fully cross-referenced and includes a complete Index.
Handbook of Social Work Practice with Vulnerable and Resilient Populations by Alex Gitterman (Editor)
Call Number: REF HV91 .H265 2001
ISBN: 9780231113960
Why do some people collapse under certain life conditions, while others remain relatively unscathed? What accounts for the marked variations in people's responses to stress and adversity? The second edition of this groundbreaking how-to guide has been extensively updated to reflect the field's growing understanding of the importance of resiliency and protective factors-the positive poles of the human experience-and the importance of their role in forming balanced assessments and responsive interventions. Individual chapters explore such problems as AIDS, chronic physical illness, depression, addiction, homelessness, divorce, and abuse. This new edition goes beyond the pathology explanatory model to stress such factors as courage, coping, and resourcefulness, and includes new chapters on such topics as crime victims and victim services, the death of a parent, gay and lesbian persons, single parenthood, and women of color.

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

The Encyclopedia of Aging: a Comprehensive Resource in Gerontology and Geriatrics. George L. Maddox et al., eds. New York: Springer Pub. Co., 1995. Reference HQ1061 .E53 1995

Encyclopedia of Social Work. Terry Mizrahi and Larry E. Davis, eds. Washington, DC: NASW Press; Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2008. Reference HV12 .E53 2008

The Social Work Dictionary. Robert L. Barker. Washington, DC: NASW Press, 1999. Reference HV12 .B37 1999

Writing Guides

Professional Writing for the Human Services. Linda Beebe, ed. Washington, DC: National Association of Social Workers, NASW Press, 1993. Circulating Collection HV41 .P759 1993

Study Guides

Social Work Examination Services: Comprehensive Review Notes for State Social Work License Examinations: Masters Level, Advanced Generalist, Clinical. Brookline, MA: Social Work Examination Services, 2008. Reference HV40.52 .S93 2008

SocialWork.com Exam Review

One practice exam may be taken at no cost.

Social Work Vocabulary Review