chat loading...
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Social Work: A Search for Sources

Academic Writer 2.0 and APA 7th Edition

This 5-minute video provides an overview of the main differences between the 6th and 7th editions. 

Cite it Right: The Four Levels of a Database Hierarchy

Why is this important anyhow?

Generic image of a flowchartWhenever you cite an article - especially one obtained electronically - you are asked to provide specific information regarding where the information was retrieved from. If you put the wrong information in the wrong spot, the Professor will not be able to verify your sources which could impact your grade on either the paper or the bibliography!

 

There are 4 levels associated with database articles,
from the top level down:

Image of the ProQuest logoAggregator (or vendor, if you prefer): this is the company that holds the databases; examples include EbscoHost and ProQuest. There is always only ONE aggregator for the purposes of citing the source. Note: Content from multiple aggregators can live in 'discovery' systems like Molloy's JETfind.

Image of Ebsco Academic Search Premier database logoDatabases live inside aggregators and the larger aggregators can contain 25 databases or more. Examples of databases within Ebsco would include ERIC, Academic Search Elite, and Business Source Premier. Certain aggregators (e.g. Westlaw, Sage) contain only one database; in these cases they are both the database and the aggregator. More on Databases...

 

Image of a stack of journals entitled "Access Online Journals"

Journals live inside of databases and there could be hundreds of them - they could be periodicals, newspapers, magazines or trade journals. Examples of a Journal would be The Chronicle of Higher Education. Most journals are uniquely identified by an 8 digit ISSN# (xxxx-xxxx). Journals are generally organized by volume, issue, and page number(s). Some databases and aggregators (e.g. Sage, ScienceDirect, PsycARTICLES) contain only peer-reviewed journals, but normally, this is not the case. So, once you have entered your keywords, always make sure to filter for either "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" results if that is a requirement from your Professor. More on finding journals...

Illustration of an article Articles are contained within the journals and of course, there can be thousands of them. This is the bottom level that leads to the full text. The article level is what you see in the results page after you enter your keywords, but the Journal, Volume, Issue and Page Number(s) are always contained in the article’s abstract or citation. The DATABASE is normally indicated somewhere at the top of the page. All of this information is required in order to cite a journal article. More on finding articles...

 

Simply stated - this time from the bottom up: articles live in the journals, which live in the databases, which are accessible via an aggregator. Knowing the names and the components will help you keep your citations and your research organized.  

 

Further Information on APA and Citing Sources

Need More Help With Citing Sources??

Then be sure to check out our full research guide on Writing & Citing for more information on citations (including citation managers available to you), writing thesis statements, plagiarism and much, much more.

Do you know about Academic Writer? You should!

Academic Writer (formerly APA Central) combines sophisticated learning and teaching tools, writing and content processing technology, and full integration of the APA's Style Manual. Why go to third party sites when everything you need is now available from the source! Take me there now.... and check out the brief video below for an introduction to Academic Writer.

APA and DOI's

Important note regarding APA citations when citing online articles:  

APA style does not distinguish between articles accessed through a database and articles accessed via the Web. The exact citation formation will depend on whether the article has a DOI (Digital Object Identifier) available. 

  • In APA 7, the presentation of digital object identifiers (DOIs) and URLs has been standardized. Both are presented as hyperlinks; the label “DOI:” is no longer used, and the words “Retrieved from” are used only when a retrieval date is also needed.

Example - Journal Article with DOI:

  

Example - Journal Article without DOI:

 These samples are in the APA 7 Manual in Chapter 10 under Reference Examples. 

 

Electronic Reference / Credo Example:

Credo Reference is a subscription database available from the library website. The content in this database is not proprietary. This means that titles can be accessed using other platforms and/or in other formats. Since titles in Credo Reference are available to people in different ways, information about Credo Reference is not required in your reference.

Determine what type of source you are using in order to cite and reference titles found and accessed using Credo. Here are examples from the APA 7 Manual, p. 324, example 33.

Citing the Mental Measurements Yearbook

Examples provided from Buros on citing the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY)

UA-42961638-1