Call numbers are a classification system used to organize books and other materials in a library. Most academic and research libraries in the U.S. utilize Library of Congress Classification and call numbers while public libraries and smaller academic libraries use the Dewey Decimal system. The letters and numbers that make up LC Classification represent classes and subclasses of subject areas. For example, books with a call number beginning with R are about topics concerned with the subject of Medicine.
The books on this page can be an excellent start to your study and research, and all can be found online in our eBook collections and databases or on the JET Library's shelves!
Assessment in Speech-Language Pathology by
This trusted, best-selling text has become an essential, invaluable resource for clinicians, instructors, and students in the dynamic field of speech-language pathology. Accessible, visually engaging, and easy to navigate, this highly practical manual provides comprehensive coverage of a wide range of disorders and the procedures and materials used in their diagnosis, evaluation, and treatment in both pediatric and adult populations.Now better than ever, ASSESSMENT IN SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY: A RESOURCE MANUAL, 5E, is completely current, with new and updated content in every chapter reflecting the latest research, best practices, and important trends and developments. Highlights include new chapters on autism spectrum disorders and assessment of clients who require augmentative and alternative communication (AAC), and a new chapter dedicated to norms, charts, and reference tables. In addition, the authors have significantly revised chapters on voice disorders and the foundations of assessment and added new material on childhood apraxia of speech, apps, online test sites, and electronic media. Also new to the Fifth edition, the text's vast collection of forms for obtaining, interpreting, and reporting assessment data are now available online, making them even easier to customize, reproduce, and use in the classroom or a wide variety of clinical settings.
Children's Speech Sound Disorders by
Speaking directly to experienced and novice clinicians, educators and students in speech-language pathology/speech and language therapy via an informative essay-based approach, Children's Speech Sound Disorders provides concise, easy-to-understand explanations of key aspects of the classification, assessment, diagnosis and treatment of articulation disorders, phonological disorders and childhood apraxia of speech. It also includes a range of searching questions to international experts on their work in the child speech field. This new edition of Children's Speech Sound Disorders is meticulously updated and expanded. It includes new material on Apps, assessing and treating two-year-olds, children acquiring languages other than English and working with multilingual children, communities of practice in communication sciences and disorders, distinguishing delay from disorder, linguistic sciences, counselling and managing difficult behaviour, and the neural underpinnings of and new approaches to treating CAS. This bestselling guide includes: Case vignettes and real-world examples to place topics in context Expert essays by sixty distinguished contributors A companion website for instructors at www.wiley.com/go/bowen/speechlanguagetherapy and a range of supporting materials on the author's own site at speech-language-therapy.com Drawing on a range of theoretical, research and clinical perspectives and emphasising quality client care and evidence-based practice, Children's Speech Sound Disorders is a comprehensive collection of clinical nuggets, hands-on strategies, and inspiration.
Developmental Speech-Language Training Through Music for Children with Autism Spectrum Disorders by
Speech and language impairments are one of the most challenging features of Autism Spectrum Disorders (ASD). Children with ASD are also known to be particularly responsive to music. This book makes a valuable connection between the two traits to showcase music as an effective way of enhancing the speech and language skills of children with ASD. This is a comprehensive guide to Dr. Hayoung Lim's highly effective approach of using music in speech-language training for children ASD. Part I provides a sound theoretical foundation and employs the most up-to-date research, including the author's own extensive study, to validate the use of music in speech and language training for children with ASD. Part II analyzes the clinical implications of “Developmental Speech- Language Training through Music” (DSLM) protocols and explains in detail specific interventions that can be used with the approach. The practical application of DSLM to Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA) Verbal Behavior (VB) approaches is also explored. This is essential reading for music therapists, speech and language pathologists and other professionals working with children with autism, as well as researchers and academics in the field.
Essentials of Communication Sciences and Disorders by
Fully revised and updated, Essentials of Communication Sciences and Disorders, Second Edition is an accessible and engaging introductory resource for students new to communication sciences and disorders. This text covers basic information about speech disorders in both children and adults, while numerous case scenarios and personal stories paint a vivid picture of the profession. Additionally, this text addresses the emotional and social effects of each disorder, as well as multicultural issues, providing students with a comprehensive overview of the profession. Includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access for Essentials of Communication Sciences & Disorders, Second Edition that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, videos, student practice activities, and assessments, and a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools.
A Guide to School Services in Speech-Language Pathology by
Table of Contents:
- Origins of public school speech-language pathology programs
- A workload analysis approach to caseload standards in schools
- Assessment, evaluation, and individualized education programs in schools
- Speech-language service delivery formats used in public schools
- Evidence-based practice
- Problem behavior management and conflict resolution
- Cultural competence in communication
- Conferencing, counseling, and creating a sense of community
- Oral language curriculum standards inventory (OL-CSI) : an authentic assessment approach for school-based speech-language pathologists
- Aligning literacy, state standards, and school-based speech-language pathology services.
Introduction to Neurogenic Communication Disorders by
Get the tools you need to evaluate, diagnose, and treat patients with neurogenic communication disorders! Introduction to Neurogenic Communication Disorders, 8th Edition provides a solid foundation in the neurology of communication, as well as the causes, symptoms, diagnosis, assessment, and management of commonly encountered neurogenic communication disorders in adults. A concise, evidence-based approach shows how to measure and treat abnormalities such as aphasia, dysarthria, right-hemisphere syndrome, and traumatic brain injury syndrome. This edition is updated with new coverage of laboratory tests, blast-related injuries to the head, and medications for dementia. Created by neurogenic communication disorders educator Robert H. Brookshire and continued by Malcolm R. McNeil, this bestselling text will enhance your skills in the rehabilitation of clients with neurogenic communication disorders. A clear, concise approach makes complex material easy to follow and understand. Clinical vignettes show how to apply principles to practice and illustrate how patients are evaluated and treated. Thought questions at the end of each chapter are based on realistic scenarios and challenge you to assess your understanding, think critically, and apply information to clinical situations. Suggested answers are included in the appendix. Clinically relevant sidebars include related facts, information, and tips for recall or therapy. More than 200 photographs and images include anatomic illustrations, scans using various brain imaging techniques, and examples of assessment tests. Evidence-based practice is reinforced by the use of scientific, evidence-based rationales to support the effectiveness of treatment approaches. Student-friendly features enhance learning with chapter outlines, critical thinking exercises, medical protocols, sample paperwork, patient transcripts, commonly used medical abbreviations, and a glossary with definitions of key vocabulary. General Concepts summary points highlight the most important material in each chapter. NEW content on closed-head injuries as a consequence of blast injury is included in the Traumatic Brain Injury chapter, addressing a pathophysiology often found in Iraq and Afghanistan war veterans.nbsp; UPDATED content includes new information on medications for treatment of persons with dementia, the latest laboratory tests for neurologic assessment, and the most current cognitive rehabilitation approaches.nbsp; NEW! More Thought questions in each chapter help you apply concepts to clinical situations. Additional content on evidence-based practice includes systematic reviews and meta-analyses relating to the efficacy and effectiveness of specific treatment approaches. Additional graphics, clinical photographs, and tables depict key information and concepts.
Language at the Speed of Sight by
According to a leading cognitive scientist, we've been teaching reading wrong. The latest science reveals how we can do it right. In 2011, when an international survey reported that students in Shanghai dramatically outperformed American students in reading, math, and science, President Obama declared it a "Sputnik moment": a wake-up call about the dismal state of American education. Little has changed, however, since then: over half of our children still read at a basic level and few become highly proficient. Many American children and adults are not functionally literate, with serious consequences. Poor readers are more likely to drop out of the educational system and as adults are unable to fully participate in the workforce, adequately manage their own health care, or advance their children's education. In Language at the Speed of Sight, internationally renowned cognitive scientist Mark Seidenberg reveals the underexplored science of reading, which spans cognitive science, neurobiology, and linguistics. As Seidenberg shows, the disconnect between science and education is a major factor in America's chronic underachievement. How we teach reading places many children at risk of failure, discriminates against poorer kids, and discourages even those who could have become more successful readers. Children aren't taught basic print skills because educators cling to the disproved theory that good readers guess the words in texts, a strategy that encourages skimming instead of close reading. Interventions for children with reading disabilities are delayed because parents are mistakenly told their kids will catch up if they work harder. Learning to read is more difficult for children who speak a minority dialect in the home, but that is not reflected in classroom practices. By building on science's insights, we can improve how our children read, and take real steps toward solving the inequality that illiteracy breeds. Both an expert look at our relationship with the written word and a rousing call to action, Language at the Speed of Sight is essential for parents, educators, policy makers, and all others who want to understand why so many fail to read, and how to change that.
Language Disorders from Infancy through Adolescence by
Spanning the entire childhood developmental period, Language Disorders from Infancy Through Adolescence, 5th Edition is the go-to text for learning how to properly assess childhood language disorders and provide appropriate treatment. The most comprehensive title available on childhood language disorders, it uses a descriptive-developmental approach to present basic concepts and vocabulary, an overview of key issues and controversies, the scope of communicative difficulties that make up child language disorders, and information on how language pathologists approach the assessment and intervention processes. This new edition also features significant updates in research, trends, social skills assessment, and instruction best practices. Clinical application focus featuring case studies, clinical vignettes, and suggested projects helps you apply concepts to professional practice. UNIQUE! Practice exercises with sample transcripts allow you to apply different methods of analysis. UNIQUE! Helpful study guides at the end of each chapter help you review and apply what you have learned. Highly regarded lead author who is an expert in language disorders in children provides authoritative guidance on the diagnosis and management of pediatric language disorders. More than 230 tables and boxes summarize important information such as dialogue examples, sample assessment plans, assessment and intervention principles, activities, and sample transcripts. Student/Professional Resources on Evolve include an image bank, video clips, and references linked to PubMed. NEW! Common core standards for language arts incorporated into the preschool and school-age chapters. NEW! Updated content features the latest research, theories, trends and techniques in the field. Information on preparing high-functioning students with autism for college Social skills training for students with autism The role of the speech-language pathologist on school literacy teams and in response to intervention Emerging theories of etiology and psychopathology added to Models of Child Language Disorders chapter Use of emerging technologies for assessment and intervention
The Science of Aphasia Rehabilitation by
This book examines the rehabilitation of language disorders in adults, presenting new research, as well as expert insights and perspectives, into this area. The first chapter presents a study on personalised cueing to enhance word finding. Cynthia K. Thompson and her colleagues contribute a chapter describing The Northwestern Naming Battery and its use in examining for verb and noun deficits in stroke-induced and primary progressive aphasia. Heather Harris-Wright and Gilson J. Capilouto examine a multi-level approach to understanding the maintenance of global coherence in aphasia. Kathryn M. Yorkston and colleagues provide discussion on the training of healthcare professionals, and what speech and language pathology and medical education can learn from one another. Yorkston also presents a systematic review asking whether principles of motor learning can enhance retention and transfer of speech skills. Connie A. Tompkins present a single-participant experiment examining generalization of a novel treatment for coarse coding deficit in right hemisphere damage. Finally, Chris Code returns to the topic of apportioning time for aphasia treatment. This book was originally published as a special issue of Aphasiology.
Birdsong, Speech, and Language by
Scholars have long been captivated by the parallels between birdsong and human speech and language. In this book, leading scholars draw on the latest research to explore what birdsong can tell us about the biology of human speech and language and the consequences for evolutionary biology. They examine the cognitive and neural similarities between birdsong learning and speech and language acquisition, considering vocal imitation, auditory learning, an early vocalization phase ("babbling"), the structural properties of birdsong and human language, and the striking similarities between the neural organization of learning and vocal production in birdsong and human speech. After outlining the basic issues involved in the study of both language and evolution, the contributors compare birdsong and language in terms of acquisition, recursion, and core structural properties, and then examine the neurobiology of song and speech, genomic factors, and the emergence and evolution of language. ContributorsHermann Ackermann, Gabriël J.L. Beckers, Robert C. Berwick, Johan J. Bolhuis, Noam Chomsky, Frank Eisner, Martin Everaert, Michale S. Fee, Olga Fehér, Simon E. Fisher, W. Tecumseh Fitch, Jonathan B. Fritz, Sharon M.H. Gobes, Riny Huijbregts, Eric Jarvis, Robert Lachlan, Ann Law, Michael A. Long, Gary F. Marcus, Carolyn McGettigan, Daniel Mietchen, Richard Mooney, Sanne Moorman, Kazuo Okanoya, Christophe Pallier, Irene M. Pepperberg, Jonathan F. Prather, Franck Ramus, Eric Reuland, Constance Scharff, Sophie K. Scott, Neil Smith, Ofer Tchernichovski, Carel ten Cate, Christopher K. Thompson, Frank Wijnen, Moira Yip, Wolfram Ziegler, Willem Zuidema
Children with Specific Language Impairment by
Children with specific language impairment (SLI) show a significant deficit in spoken language that cannot be attributed to neurological damage, hearing impairment, or intellectual disability. More prevalent than autism and at least as prevalent as dyslexia, SLI affects approximately seven percent of all children; it is longstanding, with adverse effects on academic, social, and (eventually) economic standing. The first edition of this work established Children with Specific Language Impairment as the landmark reference on this condition, considering not only the disorder's history, possible origins, and treatment but also what SLI might tell us about language organization and development in general. This second edition offers a complete update of the earlier volume. Much of the second edition is completely new, reflecting findings and interpretations based on the hundreds of studies that have appeared since the publication of the first edition in 1997. Topics include linguistic details (descriptive and theoretical), word and sentence processing findings, genetics, neurobiology, treatment, and comparisons to such conditions as autism spectrum disorders, ADHD, and dyslexia. The book covers SLI in children who speak a wide range of languages, and, although the emphasis is on children, it also includes studies of adults who were diagnosed with SLI as children or are the parents of children with SLI. Written by a leading scholar in the field, Children with Specific Language Impairment offers the most comprehensive, balanced, and unified treatment of SLI available.
Clinical Linguistics by
The Royal College of Speech and Language Therapists estimates that 2.5 million people in the UK have a communication disorder. Of this number, some 800,000 people have a disorder that is so severe that it is hard for anyone outside their immediate families to understand them. In Clinical Linguistics, Louise Cummings provides a comprehensive introduction to speech and language therapy which will give SLT students an excellent starting point for a wide range of communication impairments. In chapters that are dedicated to the discussion of individual communication disorders, Cummings argues that no treatment of this area can reasonably neglect an examination of the prevalence and causes of communication disorders. The assessment and treatment of these disorders by speech and language therapists are discussed at length. This book contains up-to-date research into communication disorders and describes the various technological innovations that are integral to the work of speech and language therapists. Clinical Linguistics is appropriate reading for students, practitioners and researchers in speech-language pathology and related clinical and academic disciplines. It contains the following chapters: The Scope of Clinical Linguistics; Disorders of the Pre- and Perinatal Period; Disorders of Cognitive Development; Disorders of Speech and Language Development; Acquired Communication and Swallowing Disorders; Disorders of Fluency; Disorders of Voice.
Dictionary of Communication Disorders by
This dictionary provides clear and concise explanations of terms used in the field of speech, therapy pathology and relevant terms in related fields including augmentative, alternative communication, hearing, linguistic, medicine, phonetics/phonology and psychology/psychiatry. <p>Those working with people who have communication disorders and those who may be returning to this field will find the explanations easy to understand. Terms include assessments, therapy programmes and current theories in these fields.</p> <p>This edition has been thoroughly updated. It includes useful website addresses for manufacturers and suppliers of communication aids and publishers of assessments, and where to find useful information on the internet for various conditions.</p>
Ethics in Speech and Language Therapy by
Ethics in Speech and Language Therapy is a key text for students, practitioners and managers alike. The demands of practice, legislation, registration and the recognition of competencies all point to the need for speech and language therapists to be explicitly educated about ethics. This book provides an overview of this key topic, grounds ethical practice in the broader context of morals and values; discusses frameworks for ethical decision making; discusses common ethical issues in speech and language therapy practice and service management; and considers factors which complicate ethical decision making.
Milestones by
Milestones: Normal Speech and Language Development Across the Lifespan is a textbook for the introductory course in Language Development for students in Speech-Language Pathology, Communication Disorders, Special Education, Educational Psychology and Education. It adopts a coherent chronological approach, beginning with responsiveness to speech and language in the womb and working across the lifespan into maturity and beyond.. By using a chronological organization, the text helps students relate the material to the whole person at each milestone. It takes a constructive approach, starting with the simplest theoretical apparatus of the youngest infant, gradually increasing in complexity and comprehensiveness one milestone at a time. The organizational background becomes a series of narratives of interesting cases, keeping the theory and structure of language development grounded in real stories.. In the second edition, the authors have enhanced and updated the cutting-edge information on early language development, literacy acquisition, and some of the factors that can delay or even derail the normal progression. They have amplified innovations that students found useful in the first edition while updating the text with respect to current research and theory. The organization of the text has been streamlined, and some of the theory and research has been clarified and illustrated with additional or updated videographic illustrations.. The digital resources on the second edition DVD-ROM include: . *A complete Digital Summary of the whole book together with hyperlinked media and Internet resources referred to in the book *A well-illustrated PowerPoint summary of each chapter with one or more videographic clips for every class meeting *A Study Guide of Multiple Choice Questions containing 1,000 items (400 more than in the prior edition) linked in sequence, page-by-page and chapter-by-chapter, to the subject matter in the text *A series
Multilingual Aspects of Speech Sound Disorders in Children by
This volume translates research into clinical practice for speech-language pathologists working with children. The book explores both multilingual and multicultural aspects of children with speech sound disorders.
Neurogenic Communication Disorders by
There is currently considerable focus on psychosocial issues for persons with aphasia and their significant others. However, there has been little unifying work that brings diverse interdisciplinary perspectives together to understand the impact of aphasia and other neurogenic communication disorders on the social construction and mediation of self or identity. In this book, the authors explore this idea of social construction of self as it relates to the human need to create, share, and modify life stories, particularly when confronting major life changes. Their premise is that impaired communication can have a profound impact on one's perception of self and one's ability to negotiate the social reconstruction of self in the context of a neurological disorder. The nature and extent of impact varies, as seen in the book's in-depth examination of narrative self for persons living with aphasia, ALS, Parkinson's disease, and dementia, as well as those aging without impairment. The authors present theoretical grounding for using the concepts of self and the idea of a social and cultural tool kit that enables clients to interact with others and to define themselves in the context of those around them. The text moves from theory to qualitative analyses of living with neurogenic disorders to implications for clinical interventions for individual clients and their significant others.
Research Methods in Clinical Linguistics and Phonetics by
The only volume to offer hands-on information about the wide range of research philosophies, methods and tools used across linguistics, phonetics, and speech science, as applied to disordered speech and language.<br /> <br /> - Covers core topics for students undertaking their own research, including experimental and qualitative methods, sociolinguistics, corpus construction and analysis, data recording, transcription and digital analysis of speech, and speech imaging.<br /> - Considers the research ethics associated with working with people who have speech, language or other communication difficulties.<br /> - Includes a detailed discussion of the dissemination of research results, and advice on the writing of theses and dissertations, and on the writing and publishing of journal articles, as well the peer review process.<br /> - Offers students and researchers from a variety of entry points - such as linguistics, education, psychology, and speech pathology - an introduction to the scope of research in clinical linguistics and phonetics, and a practical guide to this interdisciplinary field<br /> <br />
The Science and Practice of Stuttering Treatment by
<i>The Science and Practice of Stuttering Treatment: A Symposium</i> is a comprehensive resource for practitioners and researchers that spans the scientific basis and clinical management of stutters in people of all ages, from preschoolers to adults. <p>Written by an international team of clinical and research leaders in the field of speech and language pathology, as well as scientists from the fields of epidemiology and neurology, the book offers a truly comprehensive coverage of contemporary stuttering management.</p> <p>Each chapter provides information on the ′Theoretical Basis of the Treatment′, ′Outline of the Treatment′, ′Scientific Evidence for the Treatment′, ′Advantages and Disadvantages of the Treatment′, ′Planned Future Empirical Development′, and conclude with an in-depth critical review.</p> <p>This book is a must-have resource for speech and language pathologists, researchers and educators worldwide.</p> <p>FEATURES:</p> <ul> <li>Offers a rigorous critical review of each treatment</li> <li>Written by leading international experts in the field</li> <li>Completely up to date with the latest clinical and scientific research</li> </ul> <br /> <br /> <p>"This book is the output from the Research Symposium held in Croatia in 2010. This text is unusual in that it not only reflects the content of the Symposium presentations, but also reports the discussion that the presentations generated. The discussions that ensued were recorded and transcribed... The consistent organisation of each paper in the collection allows the reader to quickly access the critical information and to make direct comparisons across therapies... (and) provides the reader with a comprehensive overview of a variety of speech restructuring programs... The advantages/disadvantages and the discussion sections in each chapter help the reader with appraisal of the material presented and to make some judgements about generality and value...</p> <p>The reader feels exposed to the atmosphere and dynamics of the Symposium in a way that is rarely captured outside the conference auditorium."<br /> - A review from Sharon Millard (PhD., MRCSLT), Research Lead and Expert Speech and Language Therapist, The Michael Palin Centre, Whittington Health, London, UK</p>
Voice Work by
Voice Work: Art and Science in Changing Voices is a key work that addresses the theoretical and experiential aspects common to the practical vocal work of the three major voice practitioner professions - voice training, singing teaching, and speech and language pathology. The first half of the book describes the nature of voice work along the normal-abnormal voice continuum, reviews ways in which the mechanism and function of the voice can be explored, and introduces the reader to an original model of voice assessment, suitable for all voice practitioners. The second half describes the theory behind core aspects of voice and provides an extensive range of related practical voice work ideas. Throughout the book, there are a number of case studies drawn from the author's own experiences and a companion website, providing audio clips to illustrate aspects of the text, can be found at www.wiley.com/go/shewell.
Assistive Technologies by
It's here: the latest edition of the one text you need to master assistive strategies, make confident clinical decisions, and help improve the quality of life for people with disabilities. Based on the Human Activity Assistive Technology (HAAT) model, Assistive Technologies: Principles and Practice, 4th Edition provides detailed coverage of the broad range of devices, services, and practices that comprise assistive technology, and focuses on the relationship between the human user and the assisted activity within specific contexts. Updated and expanded, this new edition features coverage of new ethical issues, more explicit applications of the HAAT model, and a variety of global issues highlighting technology applications and service delivery in developing countries. Human Activity Assistive Technology (HAAT) framework demonstrates assistive technology within common, everyday contexts for more relevant application. Focus on clinical application guides you in applying concepts to real-world situations. Review questions and chapter summaries in each chapter help you assess your understanding and identify areas where more study is needed. Content on the impact of AT on children and the role of AT in play and education for children with disabilities demonstrates how AT can be used for early intervention and to enhance development. Coverage of changing AT needs throughout the lifespan emphasizes how AT fits into people's lives and contributes to their full participation in society. Principles and practice of assistive technology provides the foundation for effective decision-making. NEW! Global issues content broadens the focus of application beyond North America to include technology applications and service delivery in developing countries. NEW! Ethical issues and occupational justice content exposes you to vital information as you start interacting with clients. NEW! More case studies added throughout the text foster an understanding of how assistive technologies are used and how they function. NEW! Updated content reflects current technology and helps keep you current. NEW! Explicit applications of the HAAT model in each of the chapters on specific technologies and more emphasis on the interactions among the elements make content even easier to understand.
Audiology and Communication Disorders by
Using the innovative communication chain model that makes concepts and principles easy-to-understand, this 2nd edition covers structure and function of the auditory system; auditory disorders; audiologic measurement; screening for hearing loss and middle ear status; prosthetic devices for the hearing impaired; and rehabilitation and habilitation for individuals with impaired hearing. Boxed learning activities, case study vignettes, and commentaries help you understand audiology concepts and their clinical applications. Enhance your retention of key concepts with Learning Objectives, Key Terms, and Review Questions that build your understanding and challenge you to apply your knowledge.
Handbook of Clinical Audiology by
For more than 40 years, Jack Katz,,s Handbook of Clinical Audiology has been the go-to resource for graduate audiology students and audiologists. This edition,,s unsurpassed team of editors and authors, whose expertise in both research and clinical practice spans all the core areas of clinical audiology, ensures that the Seventh Edition remains at the forefront of current audiology research, technology, and practice. Packed with new research, relevant case studies, and today,,s best practices, the book is organized into four sections covering behavioral tests, physiologic tests, special populations, and management of hearing disorders. The Seventh Edition has been extensively revised and updated throughout and features five all-new chapters, updated research, a streamlined table of contents, and time-saving new instructor resources that speed lecture and exam preparation.
Hearing in Children by
In this completely updated sixth edition, Hearing in Children thoroughly examines the current knowledge of pediatric audiology, and provides a medical perspective on the identification, diagnosis, and management of hearing loss in children. This enduring text, written by two universally recognized pediatric audiologists.
Introduction to Audiology by
Introduction to Audiology, Eleventh Edition, provides in-depth coverage of the physics of sound; the anatomy of the auditory system; the causes and treatment of hearing and balance disorders; and the relevant diagnostic and therapeutic techniques for these disorders. Now including a new chapter on clinical masking as well as new internet resources, this leading text continues to emphasize the proper evaluation of hearing disorders and the treatment avenues available for these disorders. The accompanying CD-ROM features a variety of videos depicting clinical topics, a series of clinical case studies, multiple-choice questions with immediate feedback, interactive exercises for students to evaluate their comprehension of information, printable clinical forms, and much more. The new edition of this textbook also includes expanded sections on the management of auditory processing disorders, the role of the audiologist in vestibular management, and the role of the audiologist in the counseling process.
Introduction to Sound by
This powerful text continues with the same fundamental aim as the previous two editions to not present, but to teach the fundamental concepts of acoustics to students in the speech-language and hearing science. In addition to relocating revised practice problems and answers to a newly created Course Notes and Workbook for Introduction to Sound, the third edition also introduces new features. Supplements Course Notes and Workshop for Introduction to Sound 1-56593-980-8 - 176 pages, softcover, 8 1/2 x 11
The Sense of Hearing by
An accessible introduction to auditory perception that is intended for students approaching the subject for the first time, and as a foundation for more advanced study. The second edition has been thoroughly revised throughout, and includes new chapters on music, hearing impairment, and a new appendix describing research methodologies.
Diagnosis and Treatment of Voice Disorders by
Rubin (consultant otolaryngologist at the Royal National Throat, Nose, and Ear Hospital in the UK), Sataloff (otolaryngology, Thomas Jefferson U., US), and Korovin (otolaryngology, New York School of Medicine, US) present an updated and moderately revised edition of their medical text on voice disorders. The 48 chapters begin with a section on the
Language Intervention Strategies in Aphasia and Related Neurogenic Communication Disorders by
This thoroughly revised and updated Fifth Edition is the most comprehensive resource on aphasia and related neurogenic communication disorders from the most distinguished authorities of our time. This classic text has been used by graduate speech language pathology students for over 25 years, and continues to be the definitive resource across the speech sciences for aphasia. The book describes a wide range of intervention strategies including team treatment, group therapy, approaches for bilingual and culturally diverse clients, augmentative and alternative communication, and computer-assisted interventions. An important section addresses psychosocial/functional approaches to intervention. New to this edition are Activities for Discussion that encourage students to reflect on what they just read.
Professional Communication in Speech-Language Pathology by
The authors introduce student clinicians to the various kinds of professional communications they will be expected to write in professional practice, including diagnostic reports, documenting treatment planning, IEPs and IFSPs, short- and long-term progress reports, and multidisciplinary reports.
The Sense of Hearing by
"The Sense of Hearing" is a truly accessible introduction to auditory perception that is intended for students approaching the subject for the first time, and as a foundation for more advanced study. In clear and authoritative prose, the fundamental aspects of hearing are addressed. The reader is introduced to the nature of sound and the spectrum, and the anatomy and physiology of the auditory system. Basic auditory processes including frequency selectivity, loudness and pitch perception, temporal resolution, and sound localization are explained. The reader is led to an understanding of the remarkable abilities of the auditory system in a systematic and coherent way. In the final chapters, it is shown how complex processes, such as perceptual organization and speech perception, are dependent on the initial analysis that occurs when sounds enter the ear. The text benefits from 139 original illustrations, including uncluttered diagrams that illuminate auditory mechanisms. An extensive glossary provides definitions of technical terms. The emphasis is on explanation and clarity of style throughout, and the book will be an essential resource for students and educators involved in this sometimes challenging field.
Terminology of Communication Disorders by
The leading dictionary/sourcebook of terms for speech, language, and hearing pathology, Terminology of Communication Disorders is intended for students in speech, language, and hearing disorders programs, faculty, and practitioners. Terms are listed alphabetically and cross-referenced for synonyms and related terms, accommodating the sometimes complex classifications of Speech, Language, and Hearing disorders.