LibGuides: Biology: The Search for Resources: Journals

Browse Current and Past Issues of Annual Reviews within the Sciences

Annual Review of Biochemistry (2012 to 2021)
The Annual Review of Biochemistry, in publication since 1932, sets the standard for review articles in biological chemistry and molecular biology. Since its inception, these volumes have served as an indispensable resource for both the practicing biochemist and students of biochemistry.
Annual Review of Cell and Developmental Biology ( (2011 to 2019)
The Annual Review of Cell and Developmental Biology, in publication since 1985, covers the most significant developments in the field of cell and developmental biology, including structure, function, and organization of the cell, development and evolution of the cell as it relates to single and multicellular organisms, and models and tools of molecular biology.
Annual Review of Ecology, Evolution and Systematics (2012 to 2019)
The Annual Review of Ecology, Evolution, and Systematics, in publication since 1970, covers significant developments in the fields of ecology, evolutionary biology, and systematics, as they apply to all life on Earth. Essay reviews cover topics ranging from phylogeny, speciation, and molecular evolution through behavior and evolutionary physiology to population dynamics, ecosystems processes, and applications in invasion biology, conservation, and environmental management.
Annual Review of Genetics (2012 to 2019)
The Annual Review of Genetics, in publication since 1967, covers significant developments in the field of genetics. These include biochemical, behavioral, cell, and developmental genetics; evolutionary and population genetics; chromosome structure and transmission; gene function and expression; mutation and repair; genomics; immunogenetics; and other topics as related to the genetics of viruses, bacteria, fungi, plants, and animals, including humans.
Annual Review of Genomic and Human Genetics (2002 to present)
The Annual Review of Genomics and Human Genetics, in publication since 2000, covers significant developments in the field of genomics as they apply to human genetics and the human genome. We have particular interest in the areas of genomic technology, genome structure and function, genetic modification, human variation and population genetics, human evolution and, importantly, all aspects of human genetic disease and including individualized medicine.
Annual Review of Medicine (2012 to present)
The Annual Review of Medicine, in publication since 1950, covers significant developments in various fields of medicine, including AIDS/HIV, cardiology, clinical pharmacology, dermatology, endocrinology/metabolism, gastroenterology, genetics, immunology, infectious disease, neurology, oncology/hematology, pediatrics, psychiatry, pulmonology, reproductive medicine, and surgery.
Annual Review of Microbiology (2012 to 2018)
The Annual Review of Microbiology, in publication since 1947, covers significant developments in the field of microbiology, encompassing bacteria, archaea, viruses, and unicellular eukaryotes.
Annual Review of Pharmacology and Toxicology (2012 to 2018)
The Annual Review of Pharmacology and Toxicology, in publication since 1961, covers the significant developments in the fields of pharmacology and toxicology, including receptors, transporters, enzymes, and chemical agents; drug development science; systems such as the immune system, central and autonomic nervous systems, gastrointestinal system, cardiovascular system, endocrine system, and pulmonary system; and special topics.

Finding Print & Online Journals - Does Molloy carry a journal I want?

This page describes how to locate electronic or print journals by title or subject. If you are interested in finding articles using keywords you are on the wrong page and can find information on the Database, Journal, and Article Searching guide. To get started you can skip this tutorial and go directly to the Journal Finder. An alternative option for browsing journals by category or subject is to use Browzine.

From the library's homepage, select the Journal Finder button. This brings you to the main interface for finding journals. You can search for a journal by title or ISSN and browse by subject area.

Searching for Journals by Title:

As you begin to type words in, the Journal Frinder will begin suggesting titles.

As an example, if you were looking for "The Atlantic Monthly", as you begin typing you would begin to see a list of suggestions.

TIP: If you know the precise name or ISSN, type that instead of relying on the auto-populated suggestion.

The results appear in alphabetical order - to see more information click on the Title or Availability Link

Note: If you are off campus, after selecting a database you will be prompted to enter your network or Canvas username and password. If you require additional assistance with this, please see Accessing Off Campus Resources.

Below is an image of the database options as well as date coverage for each database. There may be some overlap between databases.

If accessing a journal electronically, once you click on the database of choice you can begin searching for articles. Get help on searching for articles. Also note, that if the library has the journal in print it will tell you that also.

Searching for Journals by Subject:

You may also browse by subject to isolate journals within a specific category or even a specific medical category:

Using Art, Architecture & Applied Arts as an example, clicking the chevron (arrow) will expand the list of subcategories

Clicking on the title, will open the journals in the category or subcategory

Click on the title or availability link for a journal, then you can select a database or use the Search Inside feature to search within that journal.