If you find an article that has a PMID or a DOI and aren't sure if we have it you can use the Citation Linker or Libkey.io to search the library resources. If the library doesn't have it, you will be directed to Interlibrary Loan so you can request the article.
Update 2022: Libkey has partnered with Retraction Watch to indicate retracted articles.
Instant access to millions of articles provided by your library. Search by DOI or PMID.
This page describes how to locate electronic or print journals by title or subject. If you are interested in finding articles using keywords you are on the wrong page and can find information on the Database, Journal, and Article Searching guide. To get started you can skip this tutorial and go directly to the Journal Finder. An alternative option for browsing journals by category or subject is to use Browzine.
From the library's homepage, select the Journal Finder button. This brings you to the main interface for finding journals. You can search for a journal by title or ISSN and browse by subject area.
As you begin to type words in, the Journal Frinder will begin suggesting titles.
As an example, if you were looking for "The Atlantic Monthly", as you begin typing you would begin to see a list of suggestions.
TIP: If you know the precise name or ISSN, type that instead of relying on the auto-populated suggestion.
The results appear in alphabetical order - to see more information click on the Title or Availability Link
Note: If you are off campus, after selecting a database you will be prompted to enter your network or Canvas username and password. If you require additional assistance with this, please see Accessing Off Campus Resources.
Below is an image of the database options as well as date coverage for each database. There may be some overlap between databases.
If accessing a journal electronically, once you click on the database of choice you can begin searching for articles. Get help on searching for articles. Also note, that if the library has the journal in print it will tell you that also.
You may also browse by subject to isolate journals within a specific category or even a specific medical category:
Using Art, Architecture & Applied Arts as an example, clicking the chevron (arrow) will expand the list of subcategories
Clicking on the title, will open the journals in the category or subcategory
Click on the title or availability link for a journal, then you can select a database or use the Search Inside feature to search within that journal.
indicates the full text can be retrieved in the exact format as when it appeared in a print journal. In other words, page numbers, illustrations, graphs will all be intact and it will print very nicely as well. This is the most desirable full text option.
indicates the full text can be retrieved, but it will render as a web page. This means it might be a little more to difficult read than a pdf. and images, charts and graphs may not be present. It also might be difficult to print, as text may run off the page. Ideally if you have a choice between .pdf or html full text, always choose .pdf.
indicates that this database has found full text located in another database. Clicking on this link will take you out of where you are and into the database that contains the article. From there, you should be able to access the article either by .pdf or html.
NOTE: Each database has different connections, metadata and access points, sometimes this does not work, and although it says it found full text, it may not be available.
This symbol indicates that full text may or may not have been found in one or more databases. Clicking on "Get It @ JETfind" or the words" Check for Full Text" will either:
For your convenience, Interlibrary Loan is fully automated, but keep in mind the article could take up to two weeks to come it. Before pursuing this option, Ask a Librarian to determine if there is any other way to attain full-text access and/or check for similar articles available in full text. More on InterLibrary Loan...
Note: you do not need to login to your JETfind account in order to Request from Interlibrary Loan. You will need to login to your Interlibrary Loan account - this account is not automatic and you must create it.
Once inside of Journal Finder, you can easily see what is peer reviewed or open access. Simply enter the Journal Finder from the Library Homepage or go directly to the Journal FInder. The example below is for the Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis. Note the graduation cap icon, this is an indicator that the journal is peer-reviewed.
Click on the Title of Availability Link for more information scroll down to the Details section.
If you require more information, such as title changes, year/location/frequency of publication, reviews or indexing information, use the Ulrich's database available in A-Z databases. " Note, if you are off campus, you will be asked to authenticate in order to access this subscription.
