Great Writers (ENG 2410 & 2420)

Translated by Sir Frederic G. Kenyon

Translated by R. C. Seaton

Latin Text

Translated by George Long

Translated by George Rawlinson

Translated by Benjamin Jowett

Translated by Richard Crawley

By David Scott Wilson-Okamura

Contemporary reviews of scholarly works (1990 to the present) in classical studies including archaeology. Full text book reviews searchable by author, title, reviewer and keyword. Boolean searches possible.

Online biographical encyclopedia of Roman and Byzantine emperors, including usurpers. Biographies are written by scholars and accompanied by bibliographies. The list of emperors (arranged both alphabetically and chronologically) is reasonably complete, but not all have biographies as of yet.

Materials for the study of women and gender in the ancient world. Interdisciplinary research tool for issues of gender in the classical world. Searchable for on-line book reviews, articles, images, and related databases. Provides links to related on-line resources.

Subtitle of this online journal is "communicating the classics." Refereed articles on provocative topics with feedback encouraged. Traditional articles are included but the focus is on controversial entries and critical reaction to them.

Tables of Greek abbreviations used in ancient writing, often in order to complete a word at the end of a line. Such abbreviations are reproduced in printed facsimiles and microfilm versions of early texts. Included are various types of abbreviations, e.g. suspension (the most common), contraction, symbols. For Latin language abbreviations readers should be referred to Mckerrow's An Introduction to Bibliography for Literary Students (LC call number Z1001.M16) and Cappelli's Lexcion abbreviaturarum ... latine (LC call number Z111.C24) and for more basic modern English usage to Von Ostermann's Manual of Foreign Languages for the Use of Librarians, Bibliographers, Research Workers. Editors, Translators, and Printers (LC call number Z253.V94 1952; all three of these works are available in LC Main Reading Room reference collection)

Tables of standard Greek ligatures (two letters written with one stroke). Ligatures were commonly used in early manuscripts and also appear in facsimile transcriptions and microfilms of these texts. Readers looking for Latin ligatures should be referred to Cappelli's Lexicon abbreviaturarum ... latine (LC call number Z111.C24; available in LC Main Reading Room reference collection)

Online resource for classical antiquity, including a collection of Greek and Roman texts in translation, arranged by author.

Vernacular equivalents of Latin place names, from the Association for College and Research Libraries, Rare Books and Manuscripts Section, Bibliographic Standards Committee. Based on R.A. Peddie's Place Names in Imprints: An Index to the Latin and Other Forms Used on Title Pages (Z125.P37 MRR Alc) and J.T.G. Graesse's Orbis Latinus: Lexicon Lateinischer Geographischer Namen des Mittelalters und der Neuzeit (G107.G8 1972 MRR Alc). Provides translation of many of the abbreviations and German words in Orbis Latinus. Supplemented by E.W. Burke's A Hand-List of Latin Place Names and Their Modern Equivalents (G107.B87 1999 MRR Alc).

Information about a digitization project for ancient texts, including full text of classical Greek authors in English translation and the original (romanized) Greek. Includes searchable full text access to the Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites.

An educational source for the study of Latin and classical Greek. Provides full text standard grammar books, selected classical texts, and tutorials.