chat loading...
Skip to main content

JET Library Policies: Media

policies and circulation/load period information

Media

Media (DVD) is located at the second Patron Services access point on the first floor the library within Patron Services/Rochelle Sager Media Center area. Signage within the library will direct you to this area.

There is no charge to use media; however there are fees for media materials that are not returned. Any fees associated with materials not returned to the library are the responsibility of the cardholder.

The media collection is available to faculty members, students, administrators and staff of Molloy College.

There are currently four categories:

A valid Molloy ID card is required to check out any media materials. Patrons without a valid Molloy ID card will be asked to write information for Patron Services staff member so they can be looked up in the library system to verify they have an active library account.  If patron is not in the library system, they will not be permitted to take media materials out of the library. 

Please be advised that there is an overnight activation period before being able to use the new ID card in the Library. This means that library patrons will be unable to access any physical materials. Databases and E-Reserves, however, may be accessed immediately on or off campus.

ID cards may be obtained at the Public Safety, 516.323.3500.

To view the media collection in the library, patrons can purchase headphones for one dollar if they do not already have. These materials can be viewed at the following places within the library:

* Library Instruction Rooms are primarily used for Library Instruction sessions.  These rooms are available for patron use unless a library instruction session is in progress. If room is unavailable, please see library personnel for assistance.

Signage within the library can direct patrons to the above locations.

Media Popular (For faculty and students who wish to check out media from the library)

This means media materials to check out of the library for specific time limits. For more details, see table below.

Media popular DVD cases are located in the display in Patron Services/Rochelle Sager Media Center.

There is no charge to use media popular DVD collection; however, there are fees for media popular materials that are not returned. Any fees associated with materials not returned to the library are the responsibility of cardholder.

The media popular DVD collection is available to faculty members, students, administrators and staff of Molloy College.

A valid Molloy ID card is required to check out any media popular material. Patrons without a Molloy ID card will be asked to write information for Patron Services staff member so they can be looked up in the library system to verify they have an active library account.  If patron is not in the library system, they will not be permitted to checkout any media popular materials.

Please be advised that there is an overnight activation period before being able to use the new ID card in the Library. This means that library patrons will be unable to access any physical materials. Databases and E-Reserves, however, may be accessed immediately on or off campus.

ID cards may be obtained at the Public Safety, 516.323.3500.

Patron type Material type Loan period Renewal period Max # of items Max # of renewals
Faculty DVD Popular 7 days 3 days 4 1
Doctoral student DVD Popular 7 days 3 days 4 1
Graduate student DVD Popular 7 days 3 days 4 1
Fordham student DVD Popular 7 days 3 days 4 1
Undergraduate student DVD Popular 7 days 3 days 4 1
Administrator DVD Popular 7 days 3 days 4 1
Staff DVD Popular 7 days 3 days 4 1

 

 

Patron type

Material type

Cost for replacement

Faculty DVD Popular Cost of material
Doctoral student DVD Popular Cost of material
Graduate student DVD Popular Cost of material
Fordham student DVD Popular Cost of material
Undergraduate student DVD Popular Cost of material
Administrator DVD Popular Cost of material
Staff DVD Popular Cost of material

Faculty Media Desk (For faculty who wish to take DVD materials to their classrooms)

For faculty who wish to take DVD materials to their classrooms. Faculty will need to complete the online Media Hold Request Form which can be completed up to one month in advance.

Faculty Media Desk is located at the second Patron Services access point on the first floor the library within Patron Services/Rochelle Sager Media Center.  Faculty members can pick up faculty media desk materials here.

Signage within the library will direct you to this area.

The Faculty Media Desk is limited to faculty members of Molloy College and there is no charge to use this collection; however there are fees for media materials that are not returned.  Any fees associated with materials not returned to the library are the responsibility of the cardholder.

A valid Molloy ID card is required to check out any faculty media material. Patrons without a Molloy ID card will be asked to write information for Patron Services staff member so they can be looked up in the library system to verify they have an active library account.  If patron is not in the library system, they will not be permitted to checkout any media popular materials.

Please be advised that there is an overnight activation period before being able to use the new ID card in the Library. This means that library patrons will be unable to access any physical materials. Databases and E-Reserves, however, may be accessed immediately on or off campus.

ID cards may be obtained at the Public Safety, 516.323.3500. 

 

Patron type Material type Loan period Renewal period Max # of items Max # of renewals
Faculty Faculty Media Desk 10 days 5 days 1  

 

 

 

Media Circulating

Patrons may borrow media materials for use within the library for specific time limits- For more details, see table below.

Media circulating materials are located in the second Patron Services access point on the first floor of the library within Patron Services/Rochelle Sager Media Center.  Signage within the library will direct you to this area.

The media circulating collection is available to faculty members, students, administrators and staff of Molloy College and there is no charge to use this collection.  However, there are fees for media circulating materials that are not returned. Any fees associated with materials not returned to the library are the responsibility of cardholder.

A valid Molloy ID card is required to check out any circulating material. Patrons without a Molloy ID card will be asked to write information for Patron Services staff member so they can be looked up in the library system to verify they have an active library account.  If patron is not in the library system, they will not be permitted to checkout any media circulating materials.

Please be advised that there is an overnight activation period before being able to use the new ID card in the Library. This means that library patrons will be unable to access any physical materials. Databases and E-Reserves, however, may be accessed immediately on or off campus.

ID cards may be obtained at the Public Safety, 516.323.3500.

To view media circulating materials in the library, patrons can purchase headphones for one dollar if they do not already have them. These materials can be viewed at the following places within the library:

  • Rochelle Sager Media Center
  • Library Instruction Room A*
  • Library Instruction Room B* 

* Library Instruction Rooms are primarily used for Library Instruction sessions.  These rooms are available for patron use unless a library instruction session is in progress. If room is unavailable, please see library personnel for assistance.

Signage within the library can direct patrons to the above locations.

Fees

Any fees associated with materials not returned to the library materials are the responsibility of cardholder.

Payment for materials not returned may be made in cash or check. If paid by check, library account will not be cleared for seven business days.

If a library patron fails to return books or media items and has unpaid fees, borrowing privileges will be suspended. Borrowing privileges will immediately resume once fees have been paid.

In the case of extreme delinquency, the Bursar will place a "Hold" on the student's account, which would impact their ability to register for future classes and/or receive a diploma upon graduation. 

Patron type Material type Loan period Renewal period Number of Renewals​ Max # of materials at a time​

Faculty*

Media Circulating 1 week 0 0 3
Doctoral student Media Circulating 8 hours 0 0 3
Graduate student Media Circulating 8 hours 0 0 3
Fordham student Media Circulating 8 hours 0 0 3
Undergraduate student Media Circulating 8 hours 0 0 3
Administrator Media Circulating 8 hours 0 0 3
Staff Media Circulating 8 hours 0 0 3

*Exception for faculty, can take to their office

 

 

Patron type

Material type

Cost for replacement

Faculty Media Circulating Cost of media item
Doctoral student Media Circulating Cost of media item
Graduate student Media Circulating Cost of media item
Fordham student Media Circulating Cost of media item
Undergraduate student Media Circulating Cost of media item
Administrator Media Circulating Cost of media item
Staff Media Circulating Cost of media item
UA-42961638-1