chat loading...
Skip to main content

Poetry: The Search for Sources: Home

Walt Whitman

William Blake Archive

Bartleby the Scrivener

Study or Critique?

Monograph or Anthology?

Getting Started

This guide will help you get started studying poetry, using print and electronic books, databases where you can find journal articles, and web sites.

1. Do you already have a specific poet or poem in mind?

      If not, see the "Search Strategy" tab of this guide for some suggestions.

      If you do, try searching the Catalog for related books, either by entering the poem's title, or the author's name. 

      If you're searching for criticism and commentary about the author's work, try entering the author's name and the word "criticism" (Langston Hughes criticism).

      You might also search for a movement or style, such as "Beat poetry" or "Victorian poetry"

   Next try databases such as Literature Resource Center, which can be searched for a particular work or author.

How to Access Subscription Databases from Off Campus

If you are off campus, navigate to database resources exactly as if you were on campus. When you attempt to enter either a restricted area or a subscription database, you will be asked to authenticate. Here's what you do:

  • Where prompted, enter your username and password as you would to login in for email or into canvas
  • Click the "Submit " button. That's it! At this point, you will be taken to the chosen resource.
  • Once authenticated, you will be able to access any of the databases or ereserves remotely.
  • So long as you are actively using the resource(s), you will not be prompted to reauthenticate, even if you switch databases. If idle, the system eventually times out after about 20 minutes or so.

Problems connecting? If you receive strange errors or the system persistently hangs, follow the instructions in the left hand box titled "Off Campus Solution!" on this page.

Here is a sample of what the authentication page looks like.

Note: The authentication method was updated in January 2017 to username/password instead of a 14 digit barcode.

 

OED

Loading ...
UA-42961638-1