chat loading...
http://www.resmind.swap.ac.uk/
Social Work Research Methods REF HV 11. S5924. 1999
Why do you do research?
To contribute new understanding to your field of study
How do you research in your field?
Dependent on statistics
Dependent on field studies
Dependent on interviews
How do you identify subjects for the interview?
How do you then contact them?
How do you find associations?
Using the Library for Your Research
Search Strategy/Search Log (keeping track)
When to use reference materials: Background/Overview Information
What are the differences:
Handbook
Encylopedia
Directory
Statistical Sources
Organizations
Indexes
Using bibliographies in reference books
Using reference books to understand subject trees
When to use books: Historical in nature
Using the Molloy book catalog
How to Analyze Data REF HN29.S724
How to Conduct Interviews by
Telephone and In Person REF HN29.S724
Understanding Publishers
When to use journal articles
Using print journals: evaluate the journal (HANDOUT)
Read the mission statement
Review the articles within—single subject publication?
An Author’s Guide to Social Work Journals
REF HV85.A93
Using online journals: abstracts and citations and full text (HANDOUT)
Using the correct databases and understanding what
you see there (HANDOUT)
How to find organizations on the internet
Community Resource Directory for Long Island
Associations on the Web
How to find statistics on the internet
What to do when materials are not at Molloy University
No one library can have everything.
ILL/RLP
Union Lists
Digital Collections and Online Books:
http://digital.library.upenn.edu/books
http://www.digitalbookindex.org/about.htm
http://www.ulib.org/html/index.html
http://www.cdl.library.cornell/edu/moa
http://spartan.ac.brocku.ca/%7Elward
Writing Your Report
Books in the reference collection: APA style manuals
The Writing Center
Why do you provide citations in APA format?
To provide researchers with a road map of what you consulted and used in your research
To contribute to the literature of the field
Is There a Difference Between Popular Writing and Professional Writing?
Handout: Journals Versus Magazines
How to Analyze Journals Print Versions
How to Analyze Online Journal Articles
Book: An Author’s Guide to Social Work Journals
REF HV85.A93
Discussion:
What is in a scholarly article:
Bibliography
About the Author
Charts
Graphs
Pedagogical Aids
A. Statistical Abstract—where it is; table number index
B. Social Work Research—the periodical room
Discussion: key words: controlled vocabulary—how you find material in your field
Bring Journal with you—we will take upstairs to the instruction room.
C. Social Work Abstracts—
Handout: Indexes, Citations, Abstracts
Discussion: why are citations and abstracts so important to you (history of )
Bring Journal with you to Instruction room
Demonstration: Upstairs to computer room to look at these items online:
Social Work Abstracts
CSA Abstracts
D. “National Clearinghouse on Child Abuse and Neglect”
Handout: Evaluate Internet Sites
E. Online Book Catalog:
Handout: How to Be Critical About Book Sources
Discussion: When to use books
Historical in nature
Length of coverage
Understanding Publishers
Demonstration: Using the Molloy book catalog
Other books that might be helpful:
How to Analyze Data REF HN29.S724
How to Conduct Interviews by
Telephone and In Person REF HN29.S724
Handout: Search Strategy
Search Log
Discussion: Reference materials: Background/Overview Information
Handbook
Encyclopedia
Directory
Statistical Sources
Organizations
Indexes
Using bibliographies in reference books
Using reference books to understand subject trees
Handout: Parts of a Database Record
Demonstration:
Using databases (CSA)
How databases are organized—subject specific databases
Used to see what the profession is writing
How to use social work materials in particular
How to see who is most cited (sort by author, cited in database)
Using database links
Author/author email
Journal
Related Articles
Article linker
Books: Social Work Research Methods REF HV 11. S5924. 1999
Web Site: http://www.resmind.swap.ac.uk/
Why do you do research?
To contribute new understanding to your field of study
How do you research in your field?
Dependent on statistics
Dependent on field studies
Dependent on interviews
How do you identify subjects for the interview?
How do you then contact them?
How do you find associations?
Being Creative in Doing Your Research:
How to find organizations on the internet
Community Resource Directory for Long Island
Associations on the Web
How to find statistics on the internet
What to do when materials are not at Molloy University
No one library can have everything.
ILL/RLP
Union Lists
Digital Collections and Online Books:
http://digital.library.upenn.edu/books
http://www.digitalbookindex.org/about.htm
http://www.ulib.org/html/index.html
http://www.cdl.library.cornell/edu/moa
http://spartan.ac.brocku.ca/%7Elward
Writing Your Report
Books in the reference collection: APA style manuals
The Writing Center
Why do you provide citations in APA format?
To provide researchers with a road map of what you consulted and used in your research
To contribute to the literature of the field