Citing/RefWorksCiting/ZoteroCiting/EasyBib
Copyright & Fair Use
This is the "Home" page of the "Faculty Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Molloy College Library Library Hours Chat live with a librarian Library Frequently Asked Questions and Answers Library Databases Listed by Subject Search for Journals by Title Reserves and eReserves Find books in the catalog Find Research Guides on Your Subject James E. Tobin Library Homepage Molloy College

Faculty Resources   Tags: faculty, interlibrary loan, library liaisons, library resources  

Information to help you navigate library information and services.
Last Updated: Jun 4, 2014 URL: http://molloy.libguides.com/faculty Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Resource updates from your Library Director

  • The library recently acquired  Web of Science Social Sciences Index  from Thomson Reuters, which is arguably considered the world's leading citation database. Thompson Reuters has a broad definition of social sciences. This index offers coverage within the following disciplines: anthropology, history, industrial relations, information science and library science, law, linguistics, nursing, philosophy, psychology, psychiatry, political science, public health, social issues, social work, sociology, substance abuse, urban studies, and women's studies.
  • Publishing? Be sure to check out a valuable extention to our Web of Science Subscription: Journal Citation Reports - brought in specifically for faculty - JCR Reports offers a much sought after ranking of journals based on calculating Impact Factor, 5-Year Impact Factor, Total Cites, Eigenfactor (measure of the journal’s total importance to the scientific community),  and Article Influence Score over the first five years after publication.
  • EDUCATION SOURCE searches ALL EBSCO education resources, including an Education FullText Backfile that has coverage btw 1929-1983, the current version of Education FullText and ERIC.
  • ProQuest's SocialSciences Premium is an OUTSTANDING Resource!  In my opinion, it's even better than SOCIndex, as it includes Social Sciences Abstracts, Social Services abstracts, PILOTS (PTSD database) and has thorough coverage within the areas of politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.
 

Deans Committee to the Library Faculty Reps

Listed by discipline, the following faculty members participate on the Dean's Committee on the Library.

  • Allied Health - LaSaundra Hayes
  • Art - Leonard Antinori
  • Biology/Chemistry/Environmental Science - Mary Kusenda / Jodi Evans
  • Business Management - Meryl Rosenblatt
  • Communication Arts - Jamie Cohen
  • Criminal Justice - Christine Barrow
  • Education - Maria Esposito
  • English - Virginia Russell
  • History / Political Science - Paul van Wie
  • Interdisplinary Studies - S. Vicki Toale
  • Mathematics / Computer Science - Bryan Clark
  • Modern Languages - Enrique Martinez-Bogo
  • Music / Music Therapy - Seung-A Kim
  • Nursing - Normadeane Armstrong / Denish Walsh
  • Philosophy - Elisa Ruhl-Rapaport
  • Physical Education - Donna Newman
  • Psychology - Laura Kestemberg
  • Sociology - Michael Santaniello
  • Social Work - Susan Bliss
  • Speech / Language Pathology - Hia Datta
  • Theology - S. Vicki Toale

Is somebody doing research in your field?

  • Dissertations & Thesis (Now with FullText!) - ProQuest  
      
  • Journal Citation Reports for ISI factors  Icon
    The Journal Citation Reports offers a much sought after ranking of journals based on calculating Impact Factor, 5-Year Impact Factor, Total Cites, Eigenfactor (measure of the journal’s total importance to the scientific community), and Article Influence Score over the first five years after publication. Highly instrumental for publishing, these reports provide tremendous insight into the 2,600 social sciences journals indexed.

    To search the Journal Citation Reports, go to the library’s databases and select Web of Science from our Databases A-Z link. Then choose the Journal Citation Reports under additional resources on the Web of Science Homepage. You can also go here and select Journal Citation Reports from the additional resources tab.
  • Academia
    Join, find your colleagues, follow their work, share your research.
  • Grants.gov
    Grants.gov is your source to FIND and APPLY for federal grants. The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services is proud to be the managing partner for Grants.gov, an initiative that is having an unparalleled impact on the grant community. Learn more about Grants.gov and determine if you are eligible for grant opportunities offered on this site.
  • Foundation Directory Online  
      
    The ultimate tool in grant seeking, this resource contains more than 100,000 grantmaker profiles and is updated weekly. Find out who is receiving funding and why. Ltd user access: Ask your librarian for a username and password.
  • Cabell's Directories of Publishing Opportunities  
      
    Cabell's Directories help researchers identify publications most likely to accept their manuscripts by helping you to determine which journals typically publish manuscripts similar to yours or could be the best fit for your manuscript. The index in each Directory helps you match the characteristics of your manuscript to the topic areas the journal emphasizes and acceptance rate.
  • HathiTrust Digital Library  
      
    HathiTrust is a partnership of over 60 major research institutions and libraries that have worked to create a digital repository of well over 9 million volumes including 5 million book titles and nearly 300,000 periodical titles. In many instances access to full text is available.
  • ticTOCS: Journal Table of Contents Service
    Search for 1000s of Journal Table of Contents RSS feeds by Title, Subject or Publisher in a dedicated, simple to use interface. Select and View TOCs from your search results, export citations or link to full text and you decide the next step. Save or Export Save your TOCs in your ticTOCs account or export them to a feed reader of your choice.
  • Molloy College Faculty Publications (2010-2011) .pdf
  • Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
    The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to traditional paper-based theses and dissertations. The NDLTD assists students and universities in using electronic publishing and digital libraries to more effectively share knowledge in order to unlock the potential benefits worldwide.
  • Community of Science (COS)
    COS is the leading global resource for hard-to-find information critical to scientific research and other projects across all disciplines. Content is aggregated so you spend less precious time and money searching for the information you need, leaving you more time and money for your projects.
  • UMI Dissertation Express
    UMI Dissertation Publishing, part of ProQuest, is proud to work with graduate schools around the world to publish the original research of current and former students. These dissertations and theses represent original research in virtually every area of scholarly inquiry.
  • WorldCat Dissertations
    Please note that if you are accessing this remotely, you need to enter your 14 digits from your ID card.
  • Pubget  
      
    After you conduct a keyword search in this powerful biomedical search engine, click on the Limits and then you will able to easily narrow results in a variety of ways to hone in on current research (e.g. Clinical Trials, Reviews, Case Reports). Pubget indexes all of PubMed, the Open Archives Initiatives (OAI) resources, ArXiv (an archive for scientific research in mathematics, physics, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics) and the last ten years of papers from the IEEE.
  • BioMed Central Nursing and Health Care Gateway
  • NIH Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tools (RePORT)  
      
    The RePORT web site provides access to reports, data, and analyses of NIH research activities that advance this mission, A including information on NIH expenditures and the results of NIH-supported research.
 

Interested Only in New Stuff?

There are two quick and easy ways to see what the library has received new for books, ebooks and video.

New to the Collection - This is a feature inside our catalog where you can check either by title or library of congress classification for materials received within the past 1 to 4 weeks.

New Titles RSS Feed(s) by Subject - Listed by subject and Library of Congress Classification order, select one or more subject areas to be notified via RSS when new books, ebooks or videos arrive in your area of interest.

 

Library Liaisons

The following subject specialists are listed alphabetically and can assist with collection development, book requests and shelf lists.

Susie Bloom
Information Literacy / Instruction Librarian
516.323.3927

  • Art
  • Criminal Justice
  • History / Political Science

Judy Brink-Drescher
Director, Library Webmaster & Systems, Periodicals
516.323.3925

  • Myers-Briggs Temperament Indicator (MBTI)

Wenhui Chen
Assistant Professor / Interlibrary Loan & Reserves
516.323.3920

  • Modern Languages
  • Music /Music Therapy
  • Biology/Chemistry/Environmental Science (BCES)

Michelle Ehrenpreis
Electronic Resources & Media Librarian
516.323.3928

  • Education
  • Philosophy
  • Psychology

Tim Hasin
Associate Librarian Technical Services
516.323.3921

  • English
  • Mathematics/Computer Science
  • Speech Language Pathology

Robert Martin
Collection Development
Librarian
516.323.3922

  • Interdisciplinary Studies
  • Physical Education
  • Theology

Nikki Palumbo
Associate Librarian Reference Services
516.323.3929

  • Business / Management / Finance
  • Communication 
  • Social Work/Gerontology
  • Sociology

Theresa Rienzo
Associate Librarian Health Sciences / Head of Circulation
516.323.3930

  • Allied Health
  • Nursing
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip