JET Home
Chat is loading...
Skip to main content

Library 101: Find Books

Got Text?

 

Text info from any book right to your cell phone from Molloy's catalog.

Why in the world would you want to do this?

Texting call numbers to your cell phone can be a convenient way to research for a number of reasons. If you are browsing the catalog from home, loading the book's location into your phone makes it very easy to retreive it once you are in the library. Additionally - and whether you're in the library or not -  texting the information also means you won't have to print each record out or write down the precise call number(s). Lastly, it's a 'greener' way to go!

Once you are at the title level of any journal of book, you'll see a number of export options available, including Text. Simply enter your phone number, carrier and select send text. That's it!

What if we don't have it?

There are several ways to obtain material that Molloy does not have:

  • Interlibrary Loan (ILL)* : When available, the requested material will be sent from another library - usually takes 5-10 days. More on how you can set up an Interlibrary Loan account.

  •  A WorldCat zip code proximity search will show both public and academic institutions that have the  material and are the closest in distance to your location.

  •   Did you know that any person who lives, works, attends school or pays property taxes in New York State is eligible to receive a New York Public Library card free of charge? See if you qualify, or apply now.

  • The New York Online Virtual Electronic Library offers a wide array of access to newspapers, databases and reference resources. Most schools, colleges and universities already provide access to NOVELNY, however, any New York resident can also log in with their NY State Driver's license number.

*For both ILL and RLP, a librarian should be consulted prior to determine if attaining the material from another institution is the only option. Valid I.D. card required for both.

Live Search

Live Search

Search everything or choose a resource from above


Search Discovery for Articles, ebooks and more...

Library Homepage

Search the Catalog for Books and Media

Need books outside of our collection? Search here to Get It Now
Advanced Catalog Search

Library Homepage


Directions on finding books in the catalog

The Molloy College Library contains over 100,000 items, this includes not only books but videos/DVD's, instructional materials, and more.

Finding Print Books in the Catalog:

From the Library homepage, simply type your title or keyword(s) into the box. Ensure the "Books and Videos" tab is highlighted

For ebooks, select the "Articles &ebooks" tab.Type the keyword(s) into the search box and click Find and Go:

A list of all the material containing those keywords will appear. Each item represents a separate record.

  • The result indicates whether the book is available or not, as well as its location in the library stacks.
  • Clicking into the title hyperlink will lead you to information regarding the author, publisher, ISBN, contents and subject.

Finding Books within the Library:

  • Every book has a call number. The Library's collection is arranged by the Library of Congress Classification and the call number will be a combination of letters and numbers.
  • If the location indicates it is available and in the Circulating Collection, the book can be checked out.
  • Login to place a hold on the book for pick up when you come to the library.
  • If the location is listed as Reference, Special Collections or Reserves, the item can only be viewed on the library premises (i.e. it cannot be checked out)..

  • This link (courtesy of the University of Arizona Library) clearly explains how to read a call number and successfully locate your book in the stacks, see the Call Number tab contained within this guide.
  • Use the map of the Library Floor Plan to assist you in locating your book once you have the call number.

Things to consider:

The search option you use will depend on what you already know:

  • By Title - if you know the exact title of the book
  • By Author - if you know the name of the author (be sure to enter it last name, first name)
  • By Subject - if you want to look at all the books under a specific category (often a good place to start if you're not sure of your topic)
  • By Keyword - if you want to find a specifc word or phrase in any part of a book's catalog record.

 

New to the Collection

 

Molloy's Catalog allows you to search for books that have been entered into the catalog between one and four weeks. At the bottom of any search results page, you have the option to view new books from the last 30 days, or just go here.

UA-42961638-1